This is a redone version of my question from a few days ago, which had no replies (probably because it was too wordy).
All I really need to check is this, as I've found the advanced rules a bit hard to interpret. Are different Naval actions broadly categorised like this?:
Union (Edited: both players have this:]have one free naval action (move and/or attack with a stack), for NSPs only (no SPs).
2) A normal action can do a naval transport, which in will be either of these two:
-- If the stack contains any SPs, then it's limited to friendly-controlled waterways. This will be an ambhibious attack (with its NSPs trying to overcome overcome enemy defences) or just moving troops. Confederates can reverse the usual 'river control is trumped by Union' rule when doing an amphibious attack.
-- If it contains just NSPs, with no SPs, then the stack enjoys more freedom of movement up enemy rivers etc (albeit at risk of being out of supply) and can move and still shoot at enemy naval forces (but not at anything else, except to give +1DRM to friendly amphibious attacks on top of it).
3) Special action cards can also be used as above, or to give various bonuses.
I know there are plenty of small extra rules, but is that the broad picture?
- Last edited Mon Aug 29, 2016 4:29 pm (Total Number of Edits: 7)
- Posted Sun Aug 21, 2016 6:57 pm
Correct, that is the broad picture (without getting into the details and special situations) for the use of Naval Units in the Advanced Game.