$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Marvel Dice Masters: Uncanny X-Men» Forums » Rules

Subject: New player having trouble with resolving an attack rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kris C
msg tools
player 1 attacks with 3 side kicks Juggernaut:cain marko level 1, Angel: Air transport level 1.
Player 2 blocks with 1 sidekick and Kitty Pryde: Sprite level 3.
Player 2 blocks a sidekick with a side kick, both are ko'd. And kitty blocks juggernaut.
So kitty potentially ko's Juggernaut and Juggernaut ko's kitty. However Juggs can move a sidekick to the used pile to prevent the 3 damage kitty can do. This leaves Angel, a sidekick and Juggs for player 1.
Does Juggs still assign his 6 damage even if Kitty had blocked him but was defeated and no damage was actually assigned to Juggs or does the fact Juggs was blocked stop any damage from him being assigned.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul K.
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
First off, this is the matchup, yes?

Sidekick 1/1 Sidekick 1/1
Sidekick 1/1
Sidekick 1/1
Juggernaut 6/3 Kitty 3/3
Angel 2/2


So the way combat resolves is this:

First, all attackers and blockers simultaneously damage each other. Unblocked attackers damage the opponent and go out of play. So at this point, Player 1's Sidekick (P1SK1) has dealt Player 2's Sidekick (P2SK1) 1 damage, and P2SK1 has dealt P1SK1 1 damage. P1SK2 and P1SK3 each deal 1 damage to Player 2, and those Sidekicks are now Out of Play. Juggernaut deals Kitty 6 damage, and Kitty deals Juggernaut 3 damage. Angel deals 2 damage to Player 2 and goes Out of Play.

Now:

Any "when damaged" effects take place. In this case, Juggernaut is able to Sacrifice (new keyword meaning move to Used Pile) a Sidekick to prevent Kitty's 3 damage. Sidekicks 2 and 3 are not eligible to be moved, since they are Out of Play. Player 1 could move Sidekick 1 (and it would be a really good idea) or any other Sidekicks that did not attack, and prevent Kitty's damage.

After this is done, then you check for KO's. In this case, P2SK2 is KO'd and Kitty is KO'd. If Juggernaut chose to use his ability, P1SK1 would be in the Used Pile and therefore not KO'd, and Juggernaut would have had his damage prevented so he would not be KO'd. If Juggernaut did not use his ability, then both these dice would be KO'd. All KO'd dice go to the Prep Area.

After this, you would check for any "when KO'd" effects, which there aren't any in this circumstance.

Anyways, the question you were originally asking is answered by the fundamental game rule of "Once blocked, always blocked". Once an attacker has had a blocker assigned, their damage will NOT go through to the opponent even if that blocker is removed by a game effect. They retain their "blocked" status. The only exception is if a character is given Overcrush, which works differently.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kris C
msg tools
Thanks for the reply. and the once blocked always blocked makes a lot of sense.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.