Recommend
10 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Star Wars: Armada» Forums » Sessions

Subject: GR-75 Transports kick some Imperial Butt! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Jones
United States
Dayton
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Once upon a time Admiral Ackbar was escorting 2 new GR-75 Transport ships to a hidden Rebel base, when he encountered the dreaded Darth Vader!
Ackbar being the peaceful freedom fighter (some would read that as terrorist) tried to sneak past Vader's intimidating force.


The 2 fleets crept closer, the Empire holding back it's squadrons seeming confused by the number of Rebel ships. Ackbar, realizing that his only hope for the normally unarmed GR-75 Transport ships was to use his special engineers to install the 2 long range side guns. (His special Add 2 red dice ability).


On the left flank the Nebulon-B Escort Frigate advanced to the space station but was instantly vaporized in a furious attack by the Raider-II Class Corvette. This left a lone Gr-75 facing down the jubilant Raider-II. Luckily Rebel escort contained 10 squadrons: 8 A-wings and 2 X-wings. With the Squadron command of 2 on each of the 5 Rebel ships they were able to all be activated each round. Using the A-wings to soften up the port flank of the Raider-II and the long range guns on the one remaining Nebulon. Ackbar's secret weapons on the GR-75 were sufficient to dispatch the Raider-II before it could get a second salvo off.
Meanwhile the other GR-75 was lining up for a dash between the other Raider-II and the Interdictor.



The battle heated up quickly now, the brave GR-75 that raced between the enemy ships was able to damage both the Raider-I and the Interdictor before being destroyed. The Nebulon was now moving out of range but with the help of the squadrons was able to take out the second Raider-II. This left the Interdictor with it's prodigious repair crew capable of repairing up to a maximum or 9 Engineering points per turn.
At this point the Rebels considered making a run for and calling it a moral victory based on points but they decided to press the attack and see what happened.
The Interdictor was unable to organize the maximum engineering points and after a few rounds of the rebels inflicting 3 damage cards and the Interdictor repairing 2, it was only a matter of time before sufficient damage was done to overcome the 9 hull point value.

The Rebel Battle Cruiser was so overjoyed it didn't look where it was going and ran right into an asteroid field.




The fleets involved were
http://armadawarlords.hivelabs.solutions/view_list.php?token...
and
http://armadawarlords.hivelabs.solutions/view_list.php?token...
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance Moody
United States
Mason
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
How this actually went down by someone who was there:


The battle in the Devaron system is often seen as a turning point in the war. The Rebellion had previously enjoyed much popular support, being seen as a champion of human rights and democratic values. Thus it came as a shock for those sympathetic to the rebels when Admiral Ackbar, mercilessly continued to press the battle long after having decisively won a major victory. He stubbornly refused to disengage from the poorly-led and rather peaceful Imperial force that had been surprised while testing their new Interdictor-class hospital starship. Many of the crew were away from their stations, performing a musical show for the sick children.

Ackbar’s cruel (and possibly racist) pursuit and destruction of the Interdictor and its crew of scientists and their young families led to the rebellion being perceived suddenly as a bloodthirsty and lawless force whose excesses far exceeded any of those claimed against the Empire. Indeed, a chilling intercepted transmission from Akbar stating, “Still busy, he’s almost dead” disgusted those across the galaxy.

The Rebellion had lost its false innocence and this battle stirred many to see the conflict in a new light.

17 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul B
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mb
I thought I read somewhere on the flotilla's previews that anything with a "-" attack pool cannot have dice added to their armament. I believe that was specifically intended so that people wouldn't field 10 transports at 180 points but be rolling 20 red dice out of the sides with Ackbar.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor S.
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Schneeky wrote:
I thought I read somewhere on the flotilla's previews that anything with a "-" attack pool cannot have dice added to their armament. I believe that was specifically intended so that people wouldn't field 10 transports at 180 points but be rolling 20 red dice out of the sides with Ackbar.


You are correct. They cannot use his ability if they do not have any dice to begin with. You activate Ackbar's ability once you make your attack. Since you have no dice, you never get to initiate an attack.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Jones
United States
Dayton
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, that was a specific question of mine before we started, but we could not find any reference to this ruling, if you point us in that direction it would be most helpful.

Update: Well, I can certainly see why it would be ridiculous to allow 10 GR-75's with Ackbar. Even though the text on Ackbar's card says "Before a friendly ships attack step". I now agree the ways you have described the rules.
So I am happy to talk to the general about his most recent engagement and arrange for some sort of reparations for the loss of Empire ships and lives.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance Moody
United States
Mason
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That is going to be small consolation to the families.


So looking at Ackbar, we should have noticed that the "Before a friendly ship's Attack step" part of his ability is only referencing the making of the decision to attack only from the sides. The actual attack follows the regular rules.




So with a "-" armament, the attack is cancelled.

Ackbar's adding of dice takes place during the next step (the modify step).

This is confirmed by the FAQ:

"Q: If a ship’s attack would not include any dice, but the ship can add dice through a card effect, can it perform the attack?
A: No. If a ship does not gather any dice during the “Roll Attack Dice” step of an attack, the attack is canceled."

I was vaguely remembering this but too little too late...



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You could put Enhanced Armaments on a GR-75 and combo that with Ackbar.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julien Durand
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
bkawcazn wrote:
You could put Enhanced Armaments on a GR-75 and combo that with Ackbar.


Nice idea but the GR75 has no armament slot. So FFG has done a well balanced game. Ackbar is useless with the flotillas.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thorfinn Skullsplitter
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The way they have this type of thing worded is very confusing, thus the need for the FAQ. The extra dice you get from Ackbar and some upgrades don't get rolled AFTER you roll your standard compliment of dice. They're added to the pool and rolled at the same time.

So they wrote it in the most confusing way possible.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julien Durand
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Scarbuck wrote:
The way they have this type of thing worded is very confusing, thus the need for the FAQ. The extra dice you get from Ackbar and some upgrades don't get rolled AFTER you roll your standard compliment of dice. They're added to the pool and rolled at the same time.

So they wrote it in the most confusing way possible.


Ackbar 2 red dice can be rolled if your ship can roll at least one die, if you have no die to roll from a flank, you cannot use ackbar ability
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.