Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Pharaoh» Forums » Rules

Subject: Must use all dots on the die? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kara S
United States
Palmer
Alaska
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It doesn't say in the included rules whether or not if, in moving your pieces into winning alignment, all dots must have been used to do so. But we decided that all dots-worth of movement MUST be used on any given turn, including a winning move.

So for instance, you have your queen and pawn in place and your drone is adjacent to where it needs to be for you to win. If you rolled a 2, you'd have a perfect win. If you rolled a 5, you could move your drone onto the winning row, but you'd have to spent the other 3 movement points somehow, which would likely mean moving your queen or pawn off the winning row. But if you rolled, say, a 6, you could still win by using 2 points to move your drone into diagonal alignment with the winning position, then spend a double (4-points) to move diagonal into the winning spot, thus using up all 6 points of movement.


My gaming group feels this adds a little bit extra strategy and helps stifle runaway wins. Anyone else play this way?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wolfe
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Zendo fan, Columbus Blue Jackets fan, Dominion Fan.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Howlsthunder wrote:
It doesn't say in the included rules whether or not if, in moving your pieces into winning alignment, all dots must have been used to do so. But we decided that all dots-worth of movement MUST be used on any given turn, including a winning move.

So for instance, you have your queen and pawn in place and your drone is adjacent to where it needs to be for you to win. If you rolled a 2, you'd have a perfect win. If you rolled a 5, you could move your drone onto the winning row, but you'd have to spent the other 3 movement points somehow, which would likely mean moving your queen or pawn off the winning row. But if you rolled, say, a 6, you could still win by using 2 points to move your drone into diagonal alignment with the winning position, then spend a double (4-points) to move diagonal into the winning spot, thus using up all 6 points of movement.


My gaming group feels this adds a little bit extra strategy and helps stifle runaway wins. Anyone else play this way?

My copy of the rules says (under the Splitting Moves section), "You are not required to use all of your movement points." Of course, you're free to use whatever house rule you choose.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.