$20.00
$5.00
$30.00
$15.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Fluxx» Forums » Rules

Subject: Creeper and Keepers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Vogel

Liberty Township
Ohio
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
If a Creeper can be covered up with a keeper is the creeper still active and prevents the player from winning?

Can the card that is used to cover the creeper still be used to meet the goal?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wolfe
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Zendo fan, Columbus Blue Jackets fan, Dominion Fan.
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
boardgamer1001 wrote:
If a Creeper can be covered up with a keeper is the creeper still active and prevents the player from winning?

Can the card that is used to cover the creeper still be used to meet the goal?

That doesn't sound like a card in Star Fluxx. Are you perhaps thinking of another version of Fluxx?

Perhaps your question is answered in the Looney Labs FAQ, which has a lot of different Fluxxes listed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
boardgamer1001 wrote:
...a Creeper can be covered up with a keeper...


This is the part of your question I don't understand.

Creepers attach to keepers, they don't get covered up. Both cards remain active (although the creeper may prevent you from using the special ability of the keeper it's attached to). Therefore, a Malfunctioning Holographic Projector can't use other players keepers. But an Evil Captain can still steal crew keepers.

Hope that helps. Creepers attaching to keepers is one of the things that makes Star Fluxx the best of the Fluxx family IMHO.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Vogel

Liberty Township
Ohio
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Random Order wrote:
boardgamer1001 wrote:
...a Creeper can be covered up with a keeper...


This is the part of your question I don't understand.

Creepers attach to keepers, they don't get covered up. Both cards remain active (although the creeper may prevent you from using the special ability of the keeper it's attached to). Therefore, a Malfunctioning Holographic Projector can't use other players keepers. But an Evil Captain can still steal crew keepers.

Hope that helps. Creepers attaching to keepers is one of the things that makes Star Fluxx the best of the Fluxx family IMHO.


Yes, it should have been attached to the Creeper not covered up. So if I understand what you are saying then you have to remove the Creeper from your side of the board if the current goal does not allow for that creeper to win?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wolfe
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Zendo fan, Columbus Blue Jackets fan, Dominion Fan.
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
All three Creepers in Star Fluxx say, "You can't win if you have this unless the Goal says otherwise." Be careful, though. That's not true of every Creeper in every version of Fluxx. If you play another Fluxx, be sure to read the Creepers to see how they work.

The attaching function of the Star Fluxx Creepers doesn't affect how they interact with Goals. It doesn't matter what Keeper they are attached to (or even if they're attached to a Keeper at all) when it comes to determining whether you win or not.

For example:
If the Goal is These Aren't the Droids... and you have Unseen Force, the Robot, and Malfunction/Space Station (i.e. attached to each other), you don't win because Malfunction prevents you from winning. You could use Exchange Keepers to give someone the Space Station and get a Keeper that doesn't have a Creeper attached. Malfunction is attached to Space Station so it goes with it. Now you can win with that Goal.

If the Goal is The Robots Have Turned Against Us, you win if you have Evil and The Robot. Evil doesn't prevent you from winning with this Goal, but another Creeper might. If you just had Evil/The Robot, you would win. If you had Evil/The Captain and The Robot, you still win. But if you have one of those two combinations along with Malfunction/Space Station, you don't win because of Malfunction. Similarly, if you had Brain Parasites along with Evil/The Robot, you wouldn't win. Brain Parasites can't attach to The Robot, but it still sits there and prevents you from winning.

Hope that helps.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.