$30.00
$20.00
$15.00
$5.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Dominion: Empires» Forums » Rules

Subject: Short question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ioan Mitiu
Romania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Did cards which reduce costs for other cards ( like Highway ) apply their effects on Events-too ?
We had a strong debate few days ago regarding this ... ninja
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Confusing Manifestation
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Events are not cards (the semi-official designation of Events and Landmarks is "uh card-shaped things"), so their costs are not affected by reduction effects. That was stated in the Adventures rulebook, but possibly not the Empires one?
6 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jesper Jørgensen
Denmark
Valby
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dominionstrategy.com wrote:
Events are not Kingdom cards; including one or more Events in a game does not count toward the 10 Kingdom card piles the supply includes.

In fact, Events are not considered "cards" at all; any text referring to a "card" (such as instructions to "name a card", or cost reducers changing the cost of cards) does not apply to Events.

However, for reference, the Event effects and costs are printed on cards in a landscape orientation with silver frames.


There is nothing wrong with the answer, but I thought that I would quote the entry on dominionstrategy.com - http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Event
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ioan Mitiu
Romania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
conmanau wrote:
Events are not cards (the semi-official designation of Events and Landmarks is "uh card-shaped things"), so their costs are not affected by reduction effects. That was stated in the Adventures rulebook, but possibly not the Empires one?


Good to know - I don't have Adventures-expansion just Empires and yes ... it's not state anywhere !

BTW - we end up playing this way after we reach somehow the same argument : that Events are just ... something on the table which happens to look like a "regular card".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Bell
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, there's still a card, obviously, but the card is not the event, it's just a reference that describes the event. When you buy an event, you're not buying the card. That's why you don't pick the card up and put it in your discard pile. You only bought the event.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pawel Pawlak
Poland
near Poznań
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ioan76_TM wrote:
conmanau wrote:
Events are not cards (the semi-official designation of Events and Landmarks is "uh card-shaped things"), so their costs are not affected by reduction effects. That was stated in the Adventures rulebook, but possibly not the Empires one?


Good to know - I don't have Adventures-expansion just Empires and yes ... it's not state anywhere !


Oh yes, it is mentioned. In "Additional rules for Empires", the paragraph about Events ends with this sentence:
Quote:
Costs of Events are not affected by cards like Bridge (from Dominion: Intrigue).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
conmanau wrote:
Events are not cards (the semi-official designation of Events and Landmarks is "uh card-shaped things"), so their costs are not affected by reduction effects. That was stated in the Adventures rulebook, but possibly not the Empires one?
Should've gone with tiles
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.