Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

XCOM: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Crisis selection - Out of time rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Slater
United Kingdom
Newport
Newport, South Wales
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I wanted to clarify, the rules say to draw 2 and discard 1. But if your time runs out, stop what you are doing, move on to the next phase.

I see 2 options to resolve this:

Put both cards in the crisis deck or chose one at random.

My preference would be to include both as the action you are deciding is which to discard, so running out of time means that both are included. This also seems like an appropriate penalty for being slow.

Any thoughts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule is not "stop what you are doing and move on". If you go over time, there is a penalty. So you can take as much time as you like, but it will suck for you later on.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy B
United Kingdom
Mold
Clwyd
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There has never been any officially rulings for XCOM or an FAQ, but your question has cropped up with our group as well. The rules state that you must stop whatever you are doing and we interpreted that as stop making a choice. So, we ruled that both cards enter the pool. It turns out to be a very useful incentive to get the commander to make a decision quickly
cool

EDIT: So just checked the XCOM overview PDF and it does state

If time runs out for an XCOM action, the action ends and the player responsible for that action must immediate stop performing that action, even if it is incomplete. Alien actions are presented in red text displayed in a red box. If time runs out for an alien action, the action does not automatically end, but there will be consequences

Just wanted to be clear on the rules, that's all
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Steinbach
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There are two type of actions on the app. XCOM actions and ALIEN actions. ALIEN actions are special actions denoted by a red box and cannot be skipped. The rule that the active player immediately stops performing the action only applies to XCOM actions, not to ALIEN actions.

When the timer reaches zero during an ALIEN action, the action still needs to be completed. It will eat automatically eat into your pause time and when the CO presses "Done" the time available for the next action will be halved.

The CRISIS action is considered an ALIEN action and thus the rules for ALIEN actions apply. This action cannot be skipped and need to be completed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy B
United Kingdom
Mold
Clwyd
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, you're right, just checked it. Crisis is an alien action, not an XCOM action, therefore you and Chris were correct. At least it is explained why now.

Guess that's why we have these forums
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geppo Muzzak
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
My house rule is that since the skyranger is a timed phase card, the commander must call for it IMMEDIATELY because he can only discard the last card that is on the crises deck. Once he makes his choice on the new card and puts it down on the board, he can no longer call for the skyranger on the previous card (you effectively don't pick up all cards and discard the one you choose, you must make this choice on-the-go, without knowing if there are even worse crises coming next).

Pure terror.

I am also testing another house rule in solo where you discard the SL mission if it's not completed.

You select the mission and put the alien card(s) face down. Whether you commit the soldiers or not, and whether you succeed or fail, the card is discarded anyway: missed opportunity.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.