I was playing this great game recently when a question came up. If a player incorrectly guesses the rule, and an existing koan on the table already disproves the guess, must the master create an additional koan as a counterexample? It seems to me the master should just point to the existing one, but this idea was not clearly mentioned in the rule book (that I could find). What do you think?
If any koan on the table contradicts your guess, the Master should point this out, and you may take back your stone or change your guess. It is the Master’s responsibility to make certain that a guess is unambiguous and is not contradicted by an existing koan; all Students are encouraged to participate in this process.