$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nimrod Breger
Germany
Dusseldorf
flag msg tools
Hey all,

I have a few questions that came up during our first session a few days ago.
1. Range and line of sight - in the rule book it says that when something has "range" its up to 3 spaces, but what if this space is around a corner? lets say 2 corridors in an "L" shape? do you have range even if you are out of line of sight?
2. If a space is on fire, all adjustment spaces get on fire? including spaces behind walls? or does fire can only spread according to normal movement rules?
3. When its time to perform the monster turn, the app says "move the monster up to X spaces to the investigator with the highest Y", would the monster always move to an investigator that matches Y, or if its already in a zone with an investigator it will attack him? What if there is a tie?
4 . Were you happy with the component quality you got? for me some of the figures can go inside the stand, the card that you need to put inside the stand got torn while inserting it and overall the miniature and stands and pretty badly design, is there anything to do about this?

Cheers and thanks for the help
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Baker Odom
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Mogron272 wrote:
Hey all,

I have a few questions that came up during our first session a few days ago.
1. Range and line of sight - in the rule book it says that when something has "range" its up to 3 spaces, but what if this space is around a corner? lets say 2 corridors in an "L" shape? do you have range even if you are out of line of sight?
2. If a space is on fire, all adjustment spaces get on fire? including spaces behind walls? or does fire can only spread according to normal movement rules?
3. When its time to perform the monster turn, the app says "move the monster up to X spaces to the investigator with the highest Y", would the monster always move to an investigator that matches Y, or if its already in a zone with an investigator it will attack him? What if there is a tie?


1) There's no line of sight consideration in the game. So if the monster is 3 spaces away and there are no walls or doors blocking range then you can shoot it.

2) When prompted to spread the fire you only spread it to ONE space per turn. Players choose one space adjacent to any of the fire tokens and place a token there. It cannot spread through walls but can spread through doors.

3)If the app specifically says the monster is going to move toward an investigator with the highest stat of a particular type and that's not the investigator the monster is currently with then yes it would break off.
But be careful...this is different than saying, "The monster moves 2 spaces toward the nearest investigator and then attacks the one with the highest (stat)." In that case the monster first moves toward the nearest investigator (or stays with the one it's with already) regardless of their stats. Then once it has finished its movement it will choose the investigator with the highest (stat) from among the investigators it is able to attack.

EDIT: Spelling
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Rindfleisch
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Yes, around a corner still counts as "in range" since there is no longer a "line of sight" mechanic (which there WAS in 1st edition). For these situations it is best to pretend your character is peaking around the corner or making a trick shot when attacking something that way.

2) When instructed to spread fire, it is to ONE adjacent space next to a space that is currently on fire (not all adjacent spaces). Fire cannot spread through walls, but CAN spread through doorways. (Unless another effect allows fire to spread through walls)

3) The monster will move toward the investigator with the highest Y. If they are already in the space with the investigator with the highest Y, then the monster does NOT have to move. If there is a tie, then the players decide which investigator the monster goes for.

4) I'm generally okay with the components, but I knew what to expect from the 1st edition. If you plan to use the components as they are, and not base the figures with your own custom bases (as some other gamers on here do), then it is best to trim any excess length off the figure pegs, superglue them to their bases (and let them dry). Use an exacto knife or something similar to cut any excess plastic from the bases and clear the path for the tokens to avoid them from ripping. Definitely not ideal, but it is what it is.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nimrod Breger
Germany
Dusseldorf
flag msg tools
Cheers all, thanks for the help.
More questions came in the following play!
1. Fire spread - if multiple places are on fire, does all places spread to one adjacent tile?
2. if you start your turn on fire, do you suffer 1 damage?

thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Baker Odom
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Mogron272 wrote:
Cheers all, thanks for the help.
More questions came in the following play!
1. Fire spread - if multiple places are on fire, does all places spread to one adjacent tile?
2. if you start your turn on fire, do you suffer 1 damage?

thanks!


1) Fire only ever spreads to one new space. Pick any space adjacent to fire and place a token there.

2)No. Only if you move into a space with fire or if you are in a space with fire and do anything other than move out of it. This also means if you try to move out but fail (perhaps due to a failed evade check) you will take a damage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.