$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Letters from Whitechapel» Forums » Rules

Subject: Could I use Alley to move through Police? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Przemyslaw G.
Poland
Wągrowiec/Poznań
flag msg tools
One question: Jack can use coach to move through Crossings containing Policeman pawns. But could he do it with Alley? Manual says Jack can move from one numbered circle on that block’s perimeter to any other numbered circle on that perimeter. But what if Policeman blocks him? Can he skip him?

Could I move from 56 to 57? Blue mark is policeman.


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefano Colombo
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I always played like that: Alley can't move through Policeman pawn.

In your example Jack can't move from 56 to 72 if he follow the 57-73 route
BUT, he could reach the 72 if he move from the Left, so 69-70-71 cause in this Line there is no policeman
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Walts
Scotland
Kilwinning
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes ... u can move to any free circle on
the "block's" perimeter ... Walts
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Robinson
England
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I fight lost wars, see light, fear sight
badge
I open my mind, need flesh, fear mine
mbmbmbmbmb
Munchhausen wrote:
One question: Jack can use coach to move through Crossings containing Policeman pawns. But could he do it with Alley? Manual says Jack can move from one numbered circle on that block’s perimeter to any other numbered circle on that perimeter. But what if Policeman blocks him? Can he skip him?

Could I move from 56 to 57? Blue mark is policeman.




Sure you can, you're moving through the side streets of the block not along the main (dotted) line.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Hostetler
United States
Warminster
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
LaTigre wrote:
I always played like that: Alley can't move through Policeman pawn.

In your example Jack can't move from 56 to 72 if he follow the 57-73 route
BUT, he could reach the 72 if he move from the Left, so 69-70-71 cause in this Line there is no policeman


You're not understanding the idea behind the alley token. You're moving down the side streets, between buildings, not taking the main routes.

So yes, you could even go from 56 to 57 in the example if you use an alley token.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angry Augury
Japan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I haven't played yet but I was wondering does the number Jack moves have to be "touching" the block with the alley? Or would he be able to go to any next number simply by passing through that block?

For example, in the image provided, could Jack go to (what looks like) 88, which is down another street on the opposite side of the block?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nico
Germany
Germany
flag msg tools
But I don’t want to go among mad people
badge
Oh, you can’t help that, we’re all mad here.
mbmbmbmbmb
It's possible to use an alley from 72 to 88 but not from 56.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angry Augury
Japan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.