$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Pursuit of Happiness» Forums » Rules

Subject: Item Upkeep/Life Goal Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Derek Allgire
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
Do you lose items when you don't pay their upkeep or do you just not get the reward that turn?

Lifetime goals that require you to, for example, have the highest paying job when you die. Does that count players who died before you on previous turns? Like, when a player dies do what they had before they died still count?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Abela
Malta
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
1.) If you don't pay upkeep - you lose the card, and you suffer a penalty of 1 Stress and 1 STH

Quote:
If a player is unable or unwilling to pay the upkeep cost for a card in front of him, that card is immediately discarded, the player gets 1 point of Stress and loses 1 point of Short Term Happiness


(Page 5 of rulebook)

2) Yes, lifetime goals still count for players who have died prior to the last round. You look at the state they had before they died (so they had say an L3 job), and compare with the state everyone else has before they died.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
They call me Mister...
Ireland
Donegal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MelancholyofNyX wrote:
Do you lose items when you don't pay their upkeep or do you just not get the reward that turn?

Lifetime goals that require you to, for example, have the highest paying job when you die. Does that count players who died before you on previous turns? Like, when a player dies do what they had before they died still count?


p.5 Rulebook: "If a player is unable or unwilling to pay the upkeep cost for a card in front of him, that card is immediately discarded, the player gets 1 point of Stress and loses 1 point of Short Term Happiness (STH) ( P see 'Short Term Happiness Track' on page 15)."


Good question on the second part - not sure. I think it would count players before but maybe not after. Or possibly the other way round? Personally, I would just play it as have the highest paid job at the end of the game but that's possibly not the intention.

EDIT: ninja strikes again, well played ninja, well played.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.