Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Xia: Legends of a Drift System» Forums » Rules

Subject: Long Haul Q rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Maertz
United States
Duluth
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mb
Normally when you complete a mission you then draw new Missions because you are right on a mission triangle.

One of Long Hauls actions is
-Missions (Draw, Objectives, or Complete)

Does the 'or' imply you can only do one of the three?

Wakrob
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek Dyer
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Technically it would. However the errata that will be in the expansion booklet allows you to do two actions with your shuttle. It can be the same thing twice, or two different actions, you can even do them at different times in your turn.

Also this is a pretty weak ability, so I wouldn't have a problem just letting the shuttle do both, and still have a second use of the shuttle that turn. Plus the technical language is super tight in Xia, so it's possible that while the wording is specific, that you can only do one, it may not have been Cody's intention to be so strict on that. He may not have thought about completing a mission and grabbing new ones when he wrote that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ira Fay
United States
New Haven
CT
flag msg tools
designer
:-)
badge
Fay Games logo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cody definitely thought about it!

With the revision, this is nicely balanced and isn't weak at all. The flexibility balances the individual power level. If you happen to end movement 1-4 spaces away from a mission point, this ability saves you a whole activation. With an outlaw ship, it can let you complete missions or buy/sell on a lawful planet. With an innocent ship, you can do the same with outlaw planets and avoid bounty. If you have good placement 1-4 away from two different mission/buy/sell spots, it can save 2 activations, which is huge. I rank this as a very solid tier 3 ship now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek Dyer
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't you yell at me for thinking out loud...

The Errata is excellently done, but until he says something one way or another (on a subject), we still have to speculate on Framers Intent. We're talking about things that are not public, and are not specific mechanically.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.