Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Krister Dahlgren
Sweden
Gävle
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I am a fan of card-driven games. The randomness of the cards ensure that you can never be sure about your plans and you need to adopt to both your own and your opponent's cards. The cards are also a great way of representing historical events and "chrome" without a lot of small special rules. I also have a keen interest in the Great War. Therefore, it is probably not too surprising that Paths of Glory is one of my all time favorite games (but I am far from an expert on it). However, the game is not without its flaws.

For starters, I think it suffers a bit from being one of the earliest card driven games on the market. Many cards are either too weak or too powerful. Associating the highest valued cards with both American entry and Russian capitulation means that once the Americans are in or the Russians out, you have actually decreased the value of your deck to the point that it is often beneficial to not pursue those goals. I also think that "yellow" events (play event and get the Ops value as well) makes for improved card play, which is something you see in almost all newer card-driven games but it was not "invented" when PoG was designed (except for a very few events). Much has been said about the entry of Italy and Romania, both of which was historically desired by the allies but not so much in the game.

The game also has seen a lot of variants to promote "historical play", to for example, keep the Germans from evacuating the Rhineland and send their armies to Italy instead, reduce the effect of the extremely harsh supply rules, prevent playing Kaiserschlacht events in Egypt or sending Bulgarians to Iraq or the west front. Some also require changes to both the map and cards as well.