GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

9,302 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
17 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Scythe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Scythe - No Popularity rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Callaghan
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
I have recently played my first game of Scythe with a roommate. The two player variant. We came across a question we could not discover the answer to.

If through events/actions etc your popularity gets to 0(zero) are you allowed to continue taking actions that result in negative popularity? For instance, are you allowed to attack a hex with a worker on it and send it home, even though your popularity can't go down anymore?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Milo Gertjejansen
United States
Hopkins
Minnesota
flag msg tools
~ >
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Produce is a cost, so you could not take that action.

Attacking is a result, so you could move, since moving takes no popularity to do.

Also see https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1608859/can-you-start-c...
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Brown
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
silvestine01 wrote:
I have recently played my first game of Scythe with a roommate. The two player variant. We came across a question we could not discover the answer to.

If through events/actions etc your popularity gets to 0(zero) are you allowed to continue taking actions that result in negative popularity? For instance, are you allowed to attack a hex with a worker on it and send it home, even though your popularity can't go down anymore?

You're asking two separate questions. You may take actions that result in negative popularity (although your tracker can't drop below zero), but you may not take any actions that "cost" popularity.

In your example, yes, you may attack a hex with a worker on it because the drop in popularity is a result of your action. Your popularity would remain at zero.

However, if you revealed an encounter card that required you to lose popularity to get x resources, you would not be able to take that action as you can't pay the "cost" to perform it.
22 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Callaghan
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
We were not too sure - but this certainly clarifies it! Thanks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Morton
msg tools
Avatar
MAJBrown22 wrote:
However, if you revealed an encounter card that required you to lose popularity to get x resources, you would not be able to take that action as you can't pay the "cost" to perform it.

I believe the encounter cards are all worded "Pay X popularity to...", just to make it even more clear.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.