Subject: First Timer - Defeat from the jaws of victory rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Knapp
United Kingdom
East Sussex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

It was a long wait, but finally I sat down to a play through with my old man. We had one small 1v1 skirmish before this so I could get the hang of core game principles. This is sort of a review/session report at the same time. Review in that I'm new to this, but learnt through a session ...

I've been making my dad play a lot of miniature type games like Attack Wing and Armada, so it didn't take much to convince me to sit down and play this one. I also had a part to play in getting some of his SoG stuff for my dad, so had already had plenty of opportunities to pour over things...

Game priniciples:

There's a lot going on here - planning moves ahead of time, actions to reload/repair(various forms of repair!)/change sails/drink grog/fire muskets... Oh, not to mention considering wind direction (speed also, but I already had a headache so we dropped that one). You are even affected in different ways by collisions (other ships or scenery... more on that later). To sit down and begin, its quite bewildering, but when you think of each of those items, each represent layers of strategy.

At the edge of long range, without answer

There are no dice, with damage and effects happening by drawing little chits - this could be a nightmare for some, as there are "millions" of them of different colours/types depending on the effects desired. I like the way it perhaps mitigates some of the randomness of dice - I'm sure there is some potential for abuse, but we were quite sporting with each other as we dug deep, stared into each others eyes, and dropped the required number of chits onto the table without looking - It was quite a moment!

Oh, that's not good