$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Wings of Glory: WW1 Rules and Accessories Pack» Forums » Rules

Subject: Wounded pilot not being able to fire rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Labelle
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Just played this past weekend with a group. Tried wounded pilot rules for the first time. The question that came up was:
The pilot cannot fire while doing an Immelmann turn or Split-S.
Does this mean when the Immelmann "Card" is played (in both maneuvers) or does it mean when ALL THREE cards, Straight/Stall, Immelmann, Straight, are played? Not firing during three rounds vs. just the one.
In other words, is it identical to the rules for a two seater rear gun not being able to fire during all three cards played while doing an Immelmann turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrea Angiolino
Italy
Rome
European Union
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
With Wounded pilots, it's just after the Immelmann card. Not the previous and following straights: "A wounded pilot cannot fire his machine gun in the same phase he executes a steep maneuver, an Immelmann turn, a Split-S, or a climb" (Rules & Accessories pack page 11). "Phase", singular. Sorry if it is not clear enough.

With observers it's all the three cards: "Some two seaters have the Immelmann turn maneuver card in their maneuver decks. These airplanes cannot  re at a target in the rear  ring arc immediately after using that maneuver card or after the maneuver card played just before or just after it." (Rules & Accessories pack page 24).
3 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Labelle
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks again Andrea! That's how we played it.
The rule is pretty clear as written, but one guy still argued that it was the same as a two seater.
FYI, the Zeppelin Staaken was introduced this game meet and it was a big hit! The speed of it caught everyone by surprise and even four Sopwith Snipes had trouble lining up on it. They kept over shooting the Giant or missing it altogether. The base is so large that even with the small straight line, it moves over the mat pretty far in one phase. In the end, "Fire" was its downfall. Thanks for giving us such a great plane!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duke
United States
Wynne
Arkansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But don't try an Immelmann with the Staaken...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duke
United States
Georgetown
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kduke wrote:
But don't try an Immelmann with the Staaken...


1 
 Thumb up
5.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken
United States
West Palm Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
angiolillo wrote:
In both cases, it's just after the Immelmann card. Not the previous and following straights.

Wounded pilots: "A wounded pilot cannot  re his machine gun in the same
phase he executes a steep maneuver, an Immelmann turn, a Split-S, or a climb" (Rules & Accessories pack page 11). "Phase", singular. Sorry if it is not clear enough.

Observers: "Some two seaters have the Immelmann turn maneuver card in
their maneuver decks. These airplanes cannot  re at a target in
the rear  ring arc immediately after using that maneuver card
or after the maneuver card played just before or just after it." (Rules & Accessories pack page 24).


I don't understand "In both cases, it's just after the Immelmann card. Not the previous and following straights."

Since the observers states:
"or after the maneuver card played just before or just after it."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Labelle
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
He's refering to BOTH an Immelmann turn and/or a Split-S.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrea Angiolino
Italy
Rome
European Union
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
You are perfectky right. I do not know how I could read it wrong.

For wounded pilots it is forbidden just after the Immelman card.

For Observers it is both the card and the two straights preceding or following it (generic: the two maneuvres, since with some special skills you could follow the Immelman with a non-straight maneuvre). They need to get into a safe position and probably lock the machinegun to prevent it from swiveling and hit them.

I correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.