Jonathan Straw
United States
California
flag msg tools
Hullo. This is my first post here. Well met, everyone.

My wife and I play LotR:LCG together, and because the game is a bit more challenging than she would care for, we've been playing by some house rules to make it feel more balanced in her eyes. Me being a professional game designer, I had fun tweaking the experience for her.

We've just purchased all the expansion sets for the first cycle, so now we're getting into the possibility of playing in campaign mode.

Anyway, here are the variant rules I've come up with so far that we've been playing by. I'd love to hear feedback and suggestions... and of course, you're welcome to steal any of my ideas for your own games.

We actually play with four starting heroes each, per my wife's request, so that's the first house rule we use that reduces the overall challenge.

Extra Heroes-- Spare Heroes are shuffled into the decks. They are purchased into play like Allies as neutral cards for half their threat cost, rounded up. Once in play, they assume their printed sphere of influence and start generating resources at the beginning of the following round.

Staging Phase--
--Draw one additional encounter card for Sauron. (I insisted)
--If a duplicate land is revealed, stack it on the existing land. Each stacked land increases the threat and quest cost by +1. Stacked lands still count as one land in the staging or quest area for other card text. [edit]Also: the duplicate land gains a surge effect.[/edit]
My wife and I HATE land locking.

Encounter Phase--
--Enemy Forced actions that are triggered by engagements now only trigger if they engage a player due to an Engagement Check. (Players can nullify these effects by taking the initiative with their engagement option.)
My wife felt that the wording of these actions should be affected by whoever initiates an engagement. I agreed... we like the change.

Melee Mechanics--