Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Pandemic: Reign of Cthulhu» Forums » Rules

Subject: Occultist's Ability - 4 Cultists at a Location rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Justin Jacobson
United States
Plantation
Florida
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can the occultist use her ability to move a fourth (or more) cultist into a location. As written, there's nothing preventing it, and it wouldn't trigger an awakening. But thematically it seems wrong.

Bonus: If legal, this combos nicely with the hunter's ability to kill all cultists at a location with a single action.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Yager
United States
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule, as intended, is that you can never have more than 3 Cultists on a location at one time. So no, the Occultist may not move a 4th Cultist onto a location that already has 3 Cultists on it.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Jacobson
United States
Plantation
Florida
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kaatmal wrote:
The rule, as intended, is that you can never have more than 3 Cultists on a location at one time. So no, the Occultist may not move a 4th Cultist onto a location that already has 3 Cultists on it.

Thanks! That what we figured.

Loving the game btw. Well done.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fed Aykin

Texas
msg tools
mbmbmb
kaatmal wrote:
The rule, as intended, is that you can never have more than 3 Cultists on a location at one time. So no, the Occultist may not move a 4th Cultist onto a location that already has 3 Cultists on it.


Thanks for how much you've been participating in these forums and answering questions like this! I've been anxiously awaiting this game since it was first announced.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Yager
United States
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are most welcome. Can't wait for it to hit its street date and more people can play.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Bellingham
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hi Chuck,

We have been enjoying the game, but I wanted to point out a confusion we had from the rules.

Game 1, we played (I now think correctly) that no location could ever have more than 3 cultists, with the 4th cultist always triggering an Awakening.

However, on a second read of the rules, the stuff about triggering an awakening on adding a fourth cultist is explicitly in the Summoning phase of the game, which led us to believe that you can get a fourth cultist in a location either from a Paranoia result or by having the Occultist move them without having an Awakening happen.

Would be good if there was an official erratum on this.

It may not help that we're unfamiliar with the original Pandemic game.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Monroe
United States
St Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Skimble wrote:

no location could ever have more than 3 cultists, with the 4th cultist always triggering an Awakening.


That is correct.
If you ever are to add a 4th cultist (for any reason), you instead awaken an old one instead

If you have to add 2 cultists to a location and there's already 2 there - you add one and then awaken the next old one

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.