Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Genoa» Forums » General

Subject: Rule Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alan
United States
Shaker Heights
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Ok, if this is the rulebook then I've simply missed it. However, With a "start any space" special card, when it comes to your turn can you negotiate the space to start in? That is to say without first putting down the tower? The tower person would stand to profit a little more with that tactic versus placing the tower and negotiating for the action of that one space. In this case, all spaces are basically being negotiated prior to the tower being placed. Thanks!

Alan
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Re:Rule Question
Luthien (#23606),

This came up just this weekend when we played and yeah, we weren't sure if it was legal. We allowed a player to bribe the tower player to place the tower on a specific start space.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Miguel de la Casa
Spain
Madrid
Madrid
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Rule Question
Luthien (#23606),

Wow! You must have been offered a fortune to spend the "start any space" card for another guy! Isn't it a bit crazy to use that card that way?

(Btw, you are right, I don't think this is covered in the rules)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan
United States
Shaker Heights
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Re:Rule Question
aristarco (#23641),

Well, it all depends upon your strategy and what you can get for it! You could possibly start near a space you wanted to start at anyway, sell that start position then take your action at another space. I think you'd get more money this way because the person may feel like he paid you enough to start there. Strategy strategy strategy!

Alan
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luca Iennaco
Italy
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
Re:Rule Question
Luthien (#23606),

we do NOT allow this. You've to choose your starting location without "advice" from the other players (in fact we usually use the "coach" to go to the Villas and deliver our Large Orders).
Probably it isn't covered by the rules becaue you simply can't do it. laugh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
Re:No More Days, No More Dollars
aristarco (#23641),

We do this a lot. Typically the negotiation starts out like, "I'm playing my starting position chit and at some point I'm passing through Villa Zitti. Who wants me to start and go where?"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
Re:No More Days, No More Dollars
Luke the Flaming (#23831),

Paugh! Traders is a negotiation game and you're removing things that you can negotiate about! Why? We negotiate everything: the starting positions, the entire movement track (we negotiate the whole track up front and THEN do each step as agreed), etc.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D Weimer
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Rule Question
Luthien (#23606),

I imagine our games flow a lot like JC's describing them. This kind of deal is not covered under the Trading Laws of Genoa, but we make "off the book" deals in our games all the time. That is, anything may be bought and sold provided that ~at some point~ during the tower player's turn, he sells an action to the person doing the bribing. So, we have it come up quite frequently that a person will come up to his last turn with a 'start any space' chip and without a mega-turn to string together. Selling a starting space isn't allowed, but selling the action on a space is, so as long as you do this I don't see anything illegal about it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
Re:Rule Question
tenhole (#23845),

Quite. You can't sell starting at a location, but you can sell an action at a specific location. That fact that it requires a chit to get there is beside the point. Oh, and of course you can also sell the chit as part of the exchange for an action.

I've long wanted to play ToG with open money, specifically with casino poker chips instead of the monopoly money so that every one at a glance can see how money anyone has and where they stand. The only private data then would be the specifications of any messages, or orders they might have. Everything else would be public.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geo
Greece
Athens
Marousi
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Rule Question
clearclaw (#23888),

Do you also allow a bribe for placing a tower piece on a street space?

There's no action there, but a player may wish to place his "owner" markers on adjacent buildings...

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D Weimer
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Rule Question
GeoMan (#23897),

Bribing to move to a street square is expressly allowed in Rule 2.10 of the Trading Laws of Genoa.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.