Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Star Trek: Frontiers» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do Biogenic Weapons count for Catastrophic Damage? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rus
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Catastrophic Damage rules, p. 9 wrote:
If, during one combat, your ship sustains a number of Damage Cards equal to or greater than your Captain's unmodified Hand Limit [...]


The terminology "sustain a Damage Card" in the Catastrophic Damage rules is ambiguous as to whether damage cards placed into the discard pile (due to Biogenic weapon) count or not.

Example: hand limit is 6 and defense is 3. A token has Antimatter and Biogenic weapons. Unblocked attack is 6. Is the following correct?

12 damage points due to Antimatter weapon.
4 damage cards drawn into hand normally
4 placed into discard pile due to Biogenic weapon.

I am guessing a total of 8 damage cards are "sustained", resulting in Catastrophic Damage in this case.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Parks
United States
Somerset
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Quixotic Games: www.quixoticgames.com
badge
Dungeon Alliance Kickstarter - February 2017
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, the Biogenic Weapons do not count for Catastrophic Damage. The damage sustained refers only to the primary damage that was added to your hand during the current battle.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rus
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks! Is this somewhere in the rules?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.