Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dario Domenici
Italy
Roma
RM
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I’ve already let known my opinion about MBT maps in other threadsyuk, yet I like the game.

Now, I’ve been playing Advanced Squad Leader for more than 30 years and have about everything official published: this includes more than 60 geomorphic maps, plus 6-8 ‘doubles’ and many overlays: for those who don’t know ASL, map scale is about 1 hex = 40 yards and represent typical European country (except 5-6 maps of barren terrain for North African scenarios)

So, as soon I’ve opened my MBT box and seen the poor maps included, in a part of my brain a neon sign started blinking: MBT on ASL maps?

thumbsup: beautiful maps, full of details, right colours, LOTS of combinations.

thumbsdown: different scale, lack of open fields, double table surface needed to play.

Sooo… scale can easily be adjusted; considering ASL map hexes 50 meters wide (instead of 40 yards), just double every hex value on cards and rules and half stacking penalties numbers. As these maps have much more variation, with many small houses, hedges, walls, orchards, brushes and clump of trees freely scattered all around, perhaps hull down attempts in certain terrain types could be dispensed with, leaving HD status to behind walls and on hill crests.

Modern AFVs can hurt each other at very long range and I’m afraid ASL maps would rarely allow long or extreme ranges fire opportunities between ground level opponents. Special rules can ‘cancel’ in season grain fields, and overlays can also help: however, small hills and ridges are common features and a good defender would surely (and quite realistically) set his assets in order to exploit the longer fields of fire granted by those elevated positions.