The Hotness
Games|People|Company
The Hotness has gone cold...
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Mystic Vale» Forums » Rules

Subject: Deadwood Harvester rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christina Crouch
United Kingdom
Tadley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

With the Deadwood Harvester, the card that the player discards - do they get to spend the 'Mana' from that card before it is discarded (a la Star Realms), or do they lose the Mana as well.

Thanks,
T.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Beiter
United States
Tonawanda
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is discarded before you harvest the mana from it if it has a "When played" ability.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clinton Rice
United States
Chino
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
You discard the card during the planting phase. You 'spend' during the harvest phase (if you didn't spoil). So no, you do not keep the mana. You would normally use this to get rid of a card with only a cursed land in the hopes of getting one or more beneficial cards before the next decay shows up.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I am Abomination
France
flag msg tools
The Orzhov welcome you. Please leave your belongings with the Obzedat. They are not yours anymore.
badge
Hi, I'm a european crested tit, and a very small punk rocker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
KoalaXav wrote:
You discard the card during the planting phase. You 'spend' during the harvest phase (if you didn't spoil). So no, you do not keep the mana. You would normally use this to get rid of a card with only a cursed land in the hopes of getting one or more beneficial cards before the next decay shows up.


That.

You do not generate mana, victory points, or spirit symbols until you enter your Harvest Phase.
You only enter your Harvest Phase if you decide not to push anymore during your Planting Phase.
You only trigger Deadwood Harvester when it enters your field, and that can only happen during your Planting Phase.
Therefore, you do not have the opportunity to generate the mana of a card when Deadwood Harvester lets you discard a card.

Star Realms does not have the busting mechanism featured in Mystic Vale. Cards you draw cannot be replaced as in Mystic Vale, but can be trashed when played. In Mystic Vale, you're just trying to push the most cards you can from your deck into your field, and Deadwood Harvester helps you do that by getting rid of a decay symbol for you (if you're lucky enough to have a card you want to get rid of show before DH). As soon as you see the fourth decay symbol, then you bust, and Deadwood Harvester would not have use if it did let you harvest your mana, since you would have busted already

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.