Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Circus Maximus» Forums » Rules

Subject: lash attack and brake into a corner rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Enrico Catanzaro
Italy
Palermo
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
situation:

1) The Brown chariot is in a straight stretch just one square past the "line 9" corner square. Chariot's Brown Driver plots speed 20 for his next movement being safely in a straight stretch.

2) But the Yellow chariot moves first and makes a lash attack on a the Chariot's Brown driver, still positioned on the square past the corner (line 9),
3) this attack causes the "Brake" result. So the Brown chariot must immediatly retreat one space back in the Corner (line 9).

4) when the Brown Chariot's turn comes, it must pay 11 endurance and check the corner strain table in the 9+ line since he wrote 20 MF and it is starting the movement in a corner (line 9).

Is it all the above correct? Can a chariot be forced back in corner with all the negative consequences?

If I'm not missing something this implies that the squares just beyond a low velocity corner are very dangerosus since an attack causing a brake can possibly create a disaster.

So, in conclusion, who is just exited from a low speed corner line should not plot a very high speed for the next turn as is possible a lash attack forces him back in the corner before he can move.

Opinions?
thanks





 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Voisin
United States
Lockport
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not Quit, As soon as the Brown move back, even thou it's Yellows turn. Brown has to lose the endurance and do the corner strain right than. The game is paused to see his results, in case of flips or what ever nasty results may happen like a double side slip with Yellow still next to him. That gets into a whole Heep of trouble.
I've flipped a few chariots that way. At least Yellow gets to see where his movement ends before the chariot comes crashing back to the ground. Hopefully not on him.
And if it is a side slip or double side slip (with Yellow or some other chariot in the outer lane) that is involuntary ram attack against that chariot, which is a not good thing for Brown. Because the attack is negative 3 or 6 depending on the severity of the slip. It's kind of like Brown lost control of his team, it's and unplanned slid and not a great chance of continuing. Got to love this game
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
gizmo mathboy
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I concur with RVoisin's assessment.

Brown is really in a bad spot. It's bad enough to lose 2 Endurance to the brake. Now you have to lose 11 Endurance because of the Corner Strain. If that isn't bad enough, rolling on the 9+ column of the Corner Strain table where a double side slip is probably one of the best outcomes you could hope for. There is a 63% chance to roll a 10 or higher, so may the odd be ever in your favor.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Enrico Catanzaro
Italy
Palermo
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
we played yesterday our second CM race. We are very "green". So we are learning "the hard way"
thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.