$5.00
$15.00
$30.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Sultan's Library» Forums » Rules

Subject: what are the explore costs and the travel costs for locations? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon Ruland
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
mb
the rulebook continually refers to these values, but it never says which is which (circle or triangle).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Wright
United States
Solon
Iowa
flag msg tools
mb
I have adopted circle as the explore cost and triangle as the travel cost.
My source is an early play video which mentions that the travel cost is
always 2 higher than the explore except for the Sultan's Library card for
which both costs are the same.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Ruland
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
mb
ok that makes sense, i think you're right. it's kind of odd that the travel cost is so high though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryno Lourens
South Africa
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Hi, that's correct. The Explore cost is the big number and the Travel cost is the smaller number. This is to encourage players to Explore and look for Books, rather than to follow other characters around.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Woll
United States
Warsaw
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Was this even blind playtested?

This question is the most obvious problem I've found just opening up the game and reading the rules. It makes me really nervous about the game play.

Also the answer in this thread makes no sense.
The triangle is the higher cost. Yet the designer (?) says that the explore cost is higher while also agreeing with previous posts that the travel cost is higher. Additionally, the reason given implies that the goal was to make explore easier than travel which makes no sense if the explore cost is higher.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yurii Furtat
Ukraine
flag msg tools
mb
"Smaller number" means "text is smaller", I think.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.