$5.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Vast: The Crystal Caverns» Forums » Rules

Subject: Shriek Ability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt B
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm sorry I've read this probably a half dozen times and I do not understand what this ability is or why it has a token.

From the rules:

"Cover the cost of this ability with
the Shriek token. Whenever you
roll the Dragon die, you may spend
the Shriek token to reroll it."

Can someone explain to me how this works?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabriel Cross
South Africa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I would guess that it works as follows:

When you use this ability, you take the shriek token and place it on your board over the cost of the shriek ability. This is a reminder that the ability is in effect. Now, the next time you roll the dragon die (let's say this takes place a turn later) you have the option to reroll the result. If you do, you would presumably have to accept the rerolled result and would remove the shriek token from your board (I.e. You "spend" it).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Leder
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
This is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Rabinowitz
United States
Columbia
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
To put it another way, you can buy a single Shriek token for any two power cards/gems. Then, at a later time, when you have to roll the dragon die and you don't like the result you can then spend that Shriek token to reroll the die once.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Goodridge
United States
Windsor Locks
Connecticut
flag msg tools
I don't want it, I don't need it, but I can't stop myself. - Stabbing Westward
mbmbmbmbmb
Does this also work when the Knight/Thief has to roll the Dragon Die to steal the gems?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
High Frontier PBF #17 - Failing spaceward!
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
mbmbmbmbmb
Cardboardjunkie wrote:
Does this also work when the Knight/Thief has to roll the Dragon Die to steal the gems?
The Dragon can only use the re-roll it on its own rolls (Flame, Claw, Wrath).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Cardboardjunkie wrote:
Does this also work when the Knight/Thief has to roll the Dragon Die to steal the gems?


There's only one way to read this: "Whenever you roll the Dragon die ...."?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Goodridge
United States
Windsor Locks
Connecticut
flag msg tools
I don't want it, I don't need it, but I can't stop myself. - Stabbing Westward
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for chiming in on an already answered question.

The implied question there was "does the dragon roll the Dragon die for all purposes?" Kyle's answer got both of them in one swoop.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Cardboardjunkie wrote:
The implied question there was "does the dragon roll the Dragon die for all purposes?"


Oh. I don't know the answer to that question, I thought you did.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.