Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Qyick rules clarafication on Faceup/facedown damage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gregg Olheiser
United States
Poughkeepsie
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sometimes it says facedown damage, or it tells you to turn facedown damage faceup, but often it just says "damage". If it just says "damage" is it assumed to be facedown?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quite the opposite. It is face-up, as per the rules under Damage & Horror:

RRG - Damage & Horror wrote:
All Damage and Horror are claimed faceup unless the effect
causing the Damage or Horror specifies otherwise.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
m p
England
flag msg tools
Damage and horror is faceup unless the app says otherwise.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Siivonen
msg tools
So little more clarify to this question....

If it says only "damage" not facedown famage. What will i do?

1. I take one new damagecard from damage pile as normally?

2. I read faceupdamage from my allready "earned" damage cards?

3. as point 2 but when i dont have any faceupdamage, idont do nothing?

I have played like point 1 and think that is right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johan Anglemark
Sweden
Storvreta
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pasu67 wrote:
So little more clarify to this question....

If it says only "damage" not facedown famage. What will i do?

1. I take one new damagecard from damage pile as normally?

2. I read faceupdamage from my allready "earned" damage cards?

3. as point 2 but when i dont have any faceupdamage, idont do nothing?

I have played like point 1 and think that is right.

Yes, number one. And you take them faceup and follow the instructions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Baker Odom
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jophan wrote:
pasu67 wrote:
So little more clarify to this question....

If it says only "damage" not facedown famage. What will i do?

1. I take one new damagecard from damage pile as normally?

2. I read faceupdamage from my allready "earned" damage cards?

3. as point 2 but when i dont have any faceupdamage, idont do nothing?

I have played like point 1 and think that is right.

Yes, number one. And you take them faceup and follow the instructions.


Just make sure you're taking it from the damage pile face up and resolving it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daen Dubrulle
Belgium
Limburg
flag msg tools
What about this then:

page 11 of the rulebook (monster activation example):

the app says you take 2 Damage when the monster attacks. You roll 1 success, so it negates 1 Damage. So you take a total of 1 Damage. In the explanation, the text says you take 1 Facedown Damage, but it isn't specified in the monster's attack if the damage taken is face-up or facedown.

So I assume it is an error in the rulebook, and the Damage taken is face-up?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Baker Odom
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dubbie wrote:
So I assume it is an error in the rulebook, and the Damage taken is face-up?


Correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Note that the problem is probably with the image, not the text. The text would be correct if the image matched up and the effect was for two facedown Damage as the text claims.

Hopefully they fix up this discrepancy in a future printing, as it really does have potential to confuse.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.