Subject: References for a Game Mechanic. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt P.
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Hello all,
I'm relatively new to board games, and don't have a wide base of knowledge in the area. I have also been fiddling with a game idea that uses interactive board changing.

For instance, there is a berry bush on the board. It is actually a dial covering images of berries on the board itself (windowed "turn to reveal" dial) It starts with no berries shown. One turn will reveal a few berries, one more reveals a lot of berries, and one more returns it to no berries showing. This action dictates the amount of food avail. from the bush.

Not exactly a mechanic, but a mechanism of the overall mechanic. I was wondering if you all are familiar with any games that use something similar I can reference? Sorry it's long, thanks for reading.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John
United Kingdom
Southampton
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm sure there must be a game that does that. I can't think of anything identical but one game that has something similar.

The Rivals for Catan has something similar but doesn't use a dial. It has cards you rotate to show how much of a resource you have available. THe 6 cards with the dice icon in the middle and 0-3 resource icons on each side do this, the icon at the bottom shows how much you have so 5 of them have one resource and the top middle one has no resources:

If you roll the number in the middle you rotate to add a resource, if you use a resource you rotate to indicate that.

Obviously this might not work so well on a common board.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hedyn Brand
Norway
Oslo
Lethargy
flag msg tools
Nothing to see here. Move along.
badge
Rules? I gotta read RULES‽
mbmbmbmbmb