$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Target Lock rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Curtis Royal
United States
Savannah
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry, I'm sure this answer is in rules forum somewhere but I'm at work and no time to read through all target lock post.

Do you remove target lock token if you fire at the ship you have target locked or does target lock stay even after you fire at said ship?

Also can you perform other actions from action bar (in subsequent turns) and keep target lock or no other actions as long as target lock is active?

Thank you for your help
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Steski
United States
Ithaca
NY
flag msg tools
Vigilo Confido
badge
In the pipe, five by five...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You only remove the target lock if you spent it to re-roll dice or an effect tells you to discard it (for example a lot of missiles will instruct you to discard your target lock).

You can perform other actions in subsequent turns without losing your target lock.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Huss
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
You only remove the target lock if you use it. That can either be by re-rolling your attack dice, or as a cost associated with performing a secondary weapon attack.

You may take other actions while you have a target lock.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
once you have a target lock into place it stays there until you choose to spend it.

you can perform other actions while still keeping the target lock, the only limit is that each ship can only have 1 target lock in place, so you couldnt perform a new target lock action while still holding a previous one (unless an upgrade allows it), but you can use a target lock action to move the target lock to a different ship.

generally, you spend the target lock (removing it) to reroll any of your attack dice during an attack.

some secondary weapons also require to spend a target lock to fire the weapon.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rathbun
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Target locks seem to be one of the most flexible actions available in the game. You can acquire a target lock on any ship within range 1-3. (Long Range Scanners allows you to extend this range.) Target locks - unlike focus or evade tokens - do not disappear during the clean-up phase. They don't even disappear if the locked ship at some point becomes out of range! The ship does not have to be in arc either; it just has to be in range.

You don't ever have to "use" a target lock. If you do, there are several ways that can be done. The most typical way to spend a target lock is to give yourself the ability to re-roll dice. Suppose you have a target lock on an enemy, and you're flying Luke in his trusty X-Wing. Your target is at range 1, so you get 4 dice. You roll them and get 1 hit, 1 eyeball, and two blanks. You can opt to pick up and re-roll any / all of those dice by spending your target lock. Hopefully you can improve the result!

Some game effects require you to have a target lock but don't expect you to use it to re-roll dice. For example, Darth Vadar in his TIE Advanced with Advanced Targeting Computer can add a critical result to an attack roll as long as he has a target lock on the ship he's shooting at. He doesn't need to "spend" the target lock, he just has to have it. In this case the target lock may very well persist on that specific ship until it's destroyed, then Darth Vadar moves on to the next victim. Omega Leader is another example of a pilot who makes special use of a target lock and probably won't spend it to re-roll dice.

Other game effects require you to spend the target lock to shoot something. Many missiles or torpedoes are like this. Concussion Missiles is an example that says you must spend your target lock in order to shoot the missile. However, there are exceptions. Homing Missiles requires you to have a target lock, but you don't have to spend it. That means you're free to use it to re-roll the dice during the attack.

Finally there are cards / upgrades that help you remove an unwanted target lock from your ship. Expert Handling lets you "shake off" a target lock by doing a barrel roll.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Dickson
United States
Orlando
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't forget, you can spend a subsequent Target Lock action to move an existing Target Lock to another ship. In fact, you can technically spend a Target Lock action to Target Lock a ship you already have Target Locked; this is usually done to trigger "when you acquire a Target Lock" actions.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Swampy Crocker
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DailyRich wrote:
Don't forget, you can spend a subsequent Target Lock action to move an existing Target Lock to another ship. In fact, you can technically spend a Target Lock action to Target Lock a ship you already have Target Locked; this is usually done to trigger "when you acquire a Target Lock" actions.


Which was a recent addition to the FAQ. This allows TLs to work in conjuction with a pilot ability (Dutch Vander for example...) or the TIE v1 title for the free evade.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Alexander
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Which was a recent addition to the FAQ.


Not really. The new rulebook in the second core set changed it. The FAQ merely reflects that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Swampy Crocker
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Which came out just a year ago... I know players who are still caught off guard by the fact you can fly off the board, as long as your base lands fully in play. 1 year ago is still recent for people who play 1-2 times a year and have been with the game since 2012...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.