$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Vast: The Crystal Caverns» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dragon's Wrath rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Fenton
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For removing tile via Cave actions or Goblin secrets, it's been explained that if a player doesn't have a legal way off the tile (without triggering an attack), the tile cannot be removed and another must be chosen instead. Makes sense to me.

However, for Dragon's Wrath the collapsing tiles are determined via dice roll. If the dice roll results in one of the above situations, what happens? Do all tiles except the "illegal" one collapse? Do you reroll? Or can you not cast Wrath if this is even a possibility?

Does the order of tile removal matter? I.e. maybe the Knight's space is bordered by walls on two sides, and maybe one open side faces the Dragon (so illegal) and the other open path is also destined to collapse (but has access to a non-collapsing area). If the Knight's current tile collapses first, they could move to the next, then escape the collapsing area when it too collapses. If the current tile collapses last, there would be no tile to move to (as the only legal tile to move to is already gone). Maybe changing the wording from "adjacent" to "nearest non-collapsing tile" would clear this up.

Also, does the Dragon choose where players move to? (Other tile removal options seem to imply that the moving players get to choose)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
High Frontier PBF #17 - Failing spaceward!
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
mbmbmbmbmb
Needing to move through more than one tile is very rare, but the player would need to move through valid, adjacent tiles to the nearest one that isn't about to be removed.

If there's no way for the player to move without prompting an attack or going into some other illegal space, the tile they're on would have to be ignored and would remain in place, but any other tiles hit by Wrath still get removed normally.

When more than one tile is available to move into, the player being forced to move gets to choose.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wim Crols
Belgium
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
What about the tile the Dragon is on itself?
In our game one of the affected tiles for Wrath was the tile the Dragon was standing on. However, he already used his move for that round. So does he:

1) Move anyway to the nearest non-collapsed tile, regardless of his already used up move?
2) Does not move, do not remove the tile and reconnect his disconnected tile to the rest of the map?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
High Frontier PBF #17 - Failing spaceward!
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
mbmbmbmbmb
Jedyte wrote:
What about the tile the Dragon is on itself?
In our game one of the affected tiles for Wrath was the tile the Dragon was standing on. However, he already used his move for that round. So does he:

1) Move anyway to the nearest non-collapsed tile, regardless of his already used up move?
2) Does not move, do not remove the tile and reconnect his disconnected tile to the rest of the map?
Normal Forced Movement rules apply, so the Dragon moves the fewest number of spaces to reach a legal space. It's free movement, so it doesn't count against movements already made or movement still available.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.