Magic: The Gathering» Forums » General

Subject: an old question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Piotr Slugocki
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hi guys, I know there are so many similar threads like this one, but since there are some expansions on the way and all I think my situation is a little bit different, I decided to ask you something.

What to buy as a beginner, I mean I've played some tcgs like YGO! (about 10 years ago) and some Duel Masters (6 years ago). My goal is to mainly play with my girlfriend (she does not have a deck as well), and occasionally play at my local game store. I ask about it because i know there are many formats, I'm inetrested in the most popular ones. I know nothing about deckbuilding in this game.

Please take note that I'm new to this and it will take some time before I head to a game store and try out my deck at a tournament. I'm not interested in buying singles at first.

Me and my gf do not know what types of decks/playstyle we prefer.

Thanks for all the answers in advance
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Regs
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you are interested in Magic, but aren't sure it's a good game for you or your group - I would encourage you to try it out.

On the computer you can find Duals of the Planeswalkers on Steam, X-box and PSN. The game does a good job of teaching you the basics, and allows for some deckbuilding.

If you prefer to start the game on Paper, find some intro-decks or starting next month the new 'planeswalker' decks. Get one per person involved and throw down with those.

If you've already done step 1 above - then you are probably ready to next level it. For a limited experience find deckbuilder's toolkits or attend a local prerelease (yes that is a tournament, but the absolute best one for beginners).