$35.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Grimslingers» Forums » Rules

Subject: Need some clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nik Persram
Canada
Regina
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Played our first game last night of the duel, I'm 100% positive we played a lot of it wrong. ^^; But there were still a few questions I couldn't find answers to in the rulebook.

>> Is the standoff simultaneous, or going in a clockwise fashion? The only part of this that makes it seem like it needs to be structured is drawing the item cards.

>> At the end of the Aftermath, you discard all the cards you used that don't have a 'do not discard', right? Do item cards that are not discarded just go back to your hand after the aftermath? Or are they deactivated?

>> When you play a card that combines with a spell, do you place both cards down with the target card in the Duel phase? Or just the combine card/spell card and the second card when the aftermath goes through? There was a lot of speculation in our game, usually combining cards adds more damage, so when a player would do that, others would specifically play cards to lessen or flip the effects.

>> One players spell card said to ignore damage for the turn, and another player had a spell card that effectively said they would ignore damage for the phase. How is this different? Spells are only effectively played in the Aftermath, no?

>> Adding to that, our first game was with 3 players, so we had to use the quickdraw rules. When a card says 'for this phase' and we're in the Aftermath, would it affect the whole Aftermath, or just that specific Aftermath draw, and the next Aftermath draw would be unaffected?

>> There is almost nothing in the book about surging. Does it increase all numbered effects on spells, EP, HP, Damage and discards/deactivations? Does it only affect the FX if it has a number in the description? Like if you were to play Dark, where you gain health instead of taking damage, would surge do nothing in this instance?

Thanks!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Gibson
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Howdy Nik!

- The standoff is simultaneous. You must state what you are doing however. I don't see why drawing items would need to be structured, as a person really can't tell anything from you drawing an item card, or drawing one before them.

- Item cards go back into your hard if they say "do not discard".

- And yes, you discard all spells/items if they don't say "do not discard" in their FX. Items go into the community item discard pile, spells go in your own personal discard pile, and if you played a target card it gets deactivated.

- You would play the target card, combine card, and spell/item card altogether. If other players anticipate you targeting them or doing high dmg and want to lesson the effects of your combined cards, that's working properly. If you feel like it, you can use it as a bluff and pass and have them waste their transmute or whatever they were doing to lesson your cards.

- For the card that said no damage for the turn, (I believe you're referring to EVERT or BARRIER) it does matter, at least in relation to the Outlaw's cheat ability. Because they can play a spell during the draw phase, a card that states "this phase" would only apply to the draw phase in that instance, but a card that states "this turn" would apply to all phases. So an Evert can be used by the Outlaw's cheat ability and have it matter in the aftermath phase, but if the Outlaw used cheat with Transmute, it would do nothing because transmute only applies to the current phase.

- If you're playing 3 players, you don't HAVE to use Quick Draw, its just recommended. The quick draw rules state that there are several aftermath phases. Therefore, a card that only applies to "this phase" will not have its effect carried into the next aftermath phase, it only applies to the current one.

- Surging is pretty straight forward, it gives +1 NV to any spell you play that turn. So that means elements and signatures will gain +1 NV. I think what you're actually confused about is how NV works.

There's actually a mistake in the rulebook on page 13, second last bullet should be the last bullet. That bullet is the one that describes how NV works, and has two detailed examples on page 14. I won't repeat it here, but basically NV refers to anything written as a numeric value (i.e: 1, 2 3. It would not affect something written as one, two, three).

So, unless a spell's FX has a written numeric value (1,2,3), surge has no effect on it.

So yeah, surge has no effect on the Dark element.

Also I go over much (mostly all) of the game in length in these video tutorials:

Tutorial 1: Basic setup and Elemental Play
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kdl3xJTB-HI)

Tutorial 2: How to use Signature Spells
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RrtgqtQLTys)

Tutorial 3: How to use Items
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p157bruNnmw)

Tutorial 4: How to use Archetypes
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Zq_f9gZuC0)

Tutorial 5: How to play with 3 or More!
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b1mzZm2h03w)

Tutorial 6: How to play with Quick Draw Rules
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qZ6aIjqZG00)

Tutorial 7: Setting up the Tall Tales Game Space
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=36GbYDVUkz0)

Tutorial 8: Setting up your Character Space in Tall Tales
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1QmhcGnf0YM)

Tutorial 9: How the Map Works
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YbbWiXn9hq0)

Tutorial 10: How to Play Through the Campaign
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J-bT79j1RsA)

Tutorial 11: How a Tall Tale Duel Works
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jyTKzGayRgY)

Tutorial 12: How Defeat Works in Tall Tales
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vtyAMrflqB4)

If you have more questions feel free to ask! And let me know if what I said answers your questions or if you're still unclear. Thanks!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nik Persram
Canada
Regina
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the links, don't have time to watch them right now, but I'll try to get through them soon! You wouldn't imagine the number of times I was flipping through the book for clarification. Part of that is due to picky players "Are you sure it works that way?!", "Let me go check...", and partially because we were playing really late and I was probably way too tired to teach a new game.

All of that helps a lot. I hadn't looked into the roles yet, so the Outlaw's ability helps clarify the choice of wording for timing a lot.

The NV certainly did/does confuse me. The main question I was trying to ask was, for example EARTH, would +1NV change the card from 2DMG & +2HP, to 3DMG & +3HP? And WIND would go from 1DMG & deactivate 3 cards to 2DMG & deactivate 4 cards? It changes all instances of numerical values on used spell? The dark question came up while we were playing and I said no, but my group was adamant about me checking... because you wouldn't want to lose a game on a technicality. @-@

Thanks for all the help!~
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Gibson
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Neikedjour wrote:
Thanks for the links, don't have time to watch them right now, but I'll try to get through them soon! You wouldn't imagine the number of times I was flipping through the book for clarification. Part of that is due to picky players "Are you sure it works that way?!", "Let me go check...", and partially because we were playing really late and I was probably way too tired to teach a new game.

All of that helps a lot. I hadn't looked into the roles yet, so the Outlaw's ability helps clarify the choice of wording for timing a lot.

The NV certainly did/does confuse me. The main question I was trying to ask was, for example EARTH, would +1NV change the card from 2DMG & +2HP, to 3DMG & +3HP? And WIND would go from 1DMG & deactivate 3 cards to 2DMG & deactivate 4 cards? It changes all instances of numerical values on used spell? The dark question came up while we were playing and I said no, but my group was adamant about me checking... because you wouldn't want to lose a game on a technicality. @-@

Thanks for all the help!~


All understandable!

And yeah, you've got it right for the NV! If you've only got one set of dark and light, those are not meant to be used. But if everyone has those elements then go for it.

The core game comes with one set, and they are meant to be used by one of the game's bosses in coop.

Feel free to MSG me on facebook or twitter next time you're playing for some quick answers to questions.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nik Persram
Canada
Regina
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Awesome, thanks for the reply.

I have a full set of light/dark, so I gave one of each to all players in the second game we played. It alleviated some of the stress of healing to have the Dark card in their library. Without it some of the players felt like the game was out of their control if they had been struck with a heavy hitter at the beginning of the match. Because their next move would be play Earth or die. And a lot of times playing Earth could also mean death if someone noticed it and played Water. At least with Dark, you have two options to heal, and it's harder to predict which one they would use.

I'll try to get some more plays in this weekend, see if it runs a little smoother.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Gibson
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah I could see dark being helpful that way. I made healing difficult to do because it makes the game move along quicker.

I see a lot of people go from almost being dead to winning the next turn, so even without lots of healing things can turn around pretty quick!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nik Persram
Canada
Regina
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, I get that. The point of the game is a duel, not a drawn out battle. I tried to explain the point, but I also understand the feeling of wanting at least something to swing the tides a bit if played right.

I think it's a really great addition to the game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.