$30.00
Randy P
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Played our first game -- Goblins vs the Knight -- and the Goblins won with a well timed Poison attack that kept the Knight from reaching the surface.. a very close game.

One rules question came up:

The knight has a number of "encounters / perception" that starts at 1.

When a knight reveals a tile, it can be an event, ambush and other things. Does the event card count as one of the knight's encounters? It's not 100% clear.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawrence
United States
Tustin
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Everything that happens on the tile is a single encounter.

Under the knight's section "2) Move and Act":

Quote:
All actions done on a single tile cost one Encounter. (For example, on a Dark tile, you could use one Encounter to reveal the Lit side of the tile, attack Goblins, and pick up a Treasure token.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy P
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks.

The knight spends 1 move to move to an unlit tile. The knight spends 1 encounter to reveal it (or open treasure on it, fight goblins on it, etc.).

So, the knight can move on unlit tiles? We weren't thinking of it that way. So, on a weird map, the knight could move through unlit tiles if needed. That makes sense.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Forrest & Ryan Driskel
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
randito_aggie wrote:
Thanks.

The knight spends 1 move to move to an unlit tile. The knight spends 1 encounter to reveal it (or open treasure on it, fight goblins on it, etc.).

So, the knight can move on unlit tiles? We weren't thinking of it that way. So, on a weird map, the knight could move through unlit tiles if needed. That makes sense.


Emphasis mine: Its not OR ... its AND. The knights spends 1 encounter, and that 1 encounter lets him do any and everything on that tile, like Lawrence said.


Second half: No. He has to spend 1 move AND 1 encounter, since he MUST reveal dark tiles.

If he doesn't have an encounter, he can't move there.

More edits: The only time a knight won't spend an encounter upon moving is if the tile is empty, or it has a treasure/crystal/gem on it that the knight doesn't care to deal with.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Fenton
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Vanish wrote:
More edits: The only time a knight won't spend an encounter upon moving is if the tile is empty, or it has a treasure/crystal/gem on it that the knight doesn't care to deal with.

Provided it's a Lit tile we're talking about (I know this is what you meant, but just clarifying). Revealing a tile with a treasure you don't care about still counts as an Encounter (and again, a Dark tile must be revealed if you move there).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ethan Furman
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Vanish wrote:
More edits: The only time a knight won't spend an encounter upon moving is if the tile is empty, or it has a treasure/crystal/gem on it that the knight doesn't care to deal with.


And if the tile has already been flipped to the lit side.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Leder
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
It needs to be worded strongly. You are obliged to explore the tile, attack Goblins, surfaced Dragon, and resolve events.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Fenton
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Mwahaha. Beat you (Ethan) to it by a second.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ethan Furman
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
dsdhornet wrote:
Mwahaha. Beat you (Ethan) to it by a second.


Rematch! I demand a rematch!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Davy Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
And even if the Knight has plenty of Moves left, if she has no Encounters left, she can't even move onto an Unlit tile, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawrence
United States
Tustin
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
randomlife wrote:
And even if the Knight has plenty of Moves left, if she has no Encounters left, she can't even move onto an Unlit tile, right?


Correct - she needs to have an encounter to reveal tiles, and cannot be on dark tiles.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Fenton
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
randomlife wrote:
And even if the Knight has plenty of Moves left, if she has no Encounters left, she can't even move onto an Unlit tile, right?

She can't even move onto a Lit tile. Once the Knight has no encounters left, she can't move at all (unless she adds another cube to Perception to gain another Encounter).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Davy Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Even if it's an empty Lit tile with nothing to do on it? I was thinking that she could at least move there because there are no encounters to be had anyway.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawrence
United States
Tustin
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
randomlife wrote:
Even if it's an empty Lit tile with nothing to do on it? I was thinking that she could at least move there because there are no encounters to be had anyway.


Page 4 of the rules, under "Turn Summary":

Quote:
Your turn ends when you run out of Encounters or Movement. If you run out of Encounters first, you cannot use any more Movement


(emphasis from rulebook)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Fenton
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
mavericklancer wrote:
Page 4 of the rules, under "Turn Summary":

Quote:
Your turn ends when you run out of Encounters or Movement. If you run out of Encounters first, you cannot use any more Movement


(emphasis from rulebook)

The creator has clarified that you can use your last bit of movement to reach a tile and perform an Encounter. So it's best pictured as your turn ends when you run out of Encounters or Movement [needed to reach another Encounter]. Basically if you have no Encounters left, you can't move. It's a balance technique, because otherwise the Knight could do things like attack a Surfaced Dragon repeatedly with all the Encounters, then step back (and to get a free hit on the Dragon's turn), or grab a Treasure then run away from the Goblins with full move.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Chaffer
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
Grand Rapids Area Boardgamers
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
dsdhornet wrote:
So it's best pictured as your turn ends when you run out of Encounters or Movement [needed to reach another Encounter].

This is also not precisely correct. If you are out of Encounters, you can't move. However, contrary to what that bolded sentence in the rules says, your turn is not over if you still have cubes in hand, even if you don't use them to add encounters; you can use them for other things, like shooting the bow or blowing up a wall with a bomb.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Fenton
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
JonBob wrote:
dsdhornet wrote:
So it's best pictured as your turn ends when you run out of Encounters or Movement [needed to reach another Encounter].

This is also not precisely correct. If you are out of Encounters, you can't move. However, contrary to what that bolded sentence in the rules says, your turn is not over if you still have cubes in hand, even if you don't use them to add encounters; you can use them for other things, like shooting the bow or blowing up a wall with a bomb.

That's fair (though it could also be said that those are done 'during' the last encounter and your turn is over when you finish performing actions in that tile as part of it).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mike
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
if the knight enters an ambush tile and the goblins aren't strong enough to ambush, does that use an encounter?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
High Frontier PBF #17 - Failing spaceward!
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
mbmbmbmbmb
rusticchasm wrote:
if the knight enters an ambush tile and the goblins aren't strong enough to ambush, does that use an encounter?
Flipping the tile counts as the Encounter, even if the icon on it doesn't do anything.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Rabinowitz
United States
Columbia
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Furthermore, flipping the tile is the Encounter and everything else on the tile happens as part of that SAME encounter.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.