Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Tyrants of the Underdark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Promote Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Wells
United States
California
flag msg tools
When are you allowed to promote cards? Only when a card you've played says you can? At any time during your turn?

I've gotten both answers from different players.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tahsin Shamma
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Only when a card says you can. The normally available actions specified in the rules do not say you can promote on just any turn.

One strategy of play is to keep a lookout for the cards which allow you to promote so that you can buy them quickly and move ahead of your opponents in points.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Wells
United States
California
flag msg tools
Cool, thanks! The question quickly came up from the Dominion players in our first game, interested in thinning and improving their deck.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anon Y. Mous
msg tools
mbmb
If you could take any action at any time on your turn, all games would go the same way.

* First player supplants all neutral troops, buys a card, and promotes their entire hand.
* Second player supplants all the first player's troops, buys a card, and promotes their entire hand.
* Third player supplants all the second player's troops, buys a card, and promotes their entire hand.
* Fourth player supplants all the third player's troops, buys a card, and promotes their entire hand.
* The game ends after the first round, whoever bought the highest-valued card wins. Scores are 45+x, where x is the value of the one card the player bought.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Wells
United States
California
flag msg tools
I disagree with this assessment.

Since we were not sure of the rule, we house ruled that you could promote one card from your hand each turn, not including any extra promotions added by cards. The catch, though, was you did not get to use the card's ability if you used this "free promote". As a result, there were turns where one would be faced with a tough choice: use all the "spiderweb points" to buy a 3 point card, or promote one and buy a 2 point card. Yes, promoting was common on one's turn, but not automatic.

Game ran just fine this way, for those seeking a varient.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.