GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

9,604 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Elysium» Forums » Rules

Subject: Order for everyone transferring a card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Crawford
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One of the cards allows all opponents to transfer a card if they pay an extra coin. The rules specify that first the player who activated the ability transfers, then the rest of the players do "in the current turn order". However, that's still ambiguous; there's 2 seemingly valid ways to interpret it.

1. Player 3 activates the card. After he goes, then player 1, then 2, then 4 go.

2. Player 3 activates the card. After he goes, then player 4, then 1, then 2 go.

In other words, is it "turn order" as in "lowest number first", or "turn order" as in "person whose turn is next"?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aernout Casier
Netherlands
Nijmegen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We have always played: lowest number first.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Crawford
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AernoutMJC wrote:
We have always played: lowest number first.


That was my first instinct, but after it was discussed, all 4 of us agreed that both interpretations were equally likely.

This actually came up too; where 2 different players both were transferring a card, and whoever transferred first would claim the longest Level Legend bonus. Though it didn't matter to the final score as one of them ended up reaching completing the legend before the other.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gl√°ucio Reis
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro
RJ
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GendoIkari_82 wrote:
That was by first instinct, but after it was discussed, all 4 of us agreed that both interpretations were equally likely.

Both are equally valid interpretations, but I see no design reason to go with option 2. Why benefit the random player who just happens to come next in turn order, instead of using the regular order that was determined by the players' decisions?
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.