$35.00
EDG
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Can you discard if you have less than 5 cards? It sounds like you can only discard from your hand if you have *more* than 5 cards? I guess you can offload cards onto the board though but on our first play tonight (2 players) we got a bit stuck with our hands a couple of times.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A L D A R O N
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
A L D A R O N
badge
----[---->+<]>++.+++++++++++.--------.---.>-[--->+<]>---.---.-.
mb
We found the game (with 2 players) unplayable without adding this as a house rule.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dante Lauretta
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Current rules only allow discarding if you have more than five cards. An additional house rule that helps is trading with the draw pile at 3-to-1.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rus
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
EDG_ wrote:
we got a bit stuck with our hands a couple of times.


I assume you mean that drawing 1 card per turn is too slow if you are stuck with a hand of 5 useless cards you can't play. However, remember that you can always take 5 cards from the board into your hand, then discard all your dead cards, then on the next turn play all 5 of your old cards back onto the board, then draw 4-5 new cards when doing end-of-turn draw. This takes 2 turns to execute, but results in effectively drawing 4-5 cards. With this trick, we never had a problem of being stuck for more than a few turns.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Val Ofiesh
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We play with house rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.