$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Suffer x facedown Horrer and x Damage (x negates) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Markus Sinnabell
Austria
flag msg tools
mbmb
.....did the negation counts for booth, or only for Damage?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you have enough successes, sure. You choose which ones get negated based on your successes.

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Aristides
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Both - for each success on the test, you negate 1 Horror or 1 Damage (your choice)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Steinbach
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
And do you suffer both the horror and damage facedown, or do you suffer damage face-up?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Harlan

Oregon
msg tools
mb
Vardaine wrote:
And do you suffer both the horror and damage facedown, or do you suffer damage face-up?


In this case, "Suffer 3 facedown Horror and 2 Damage" creates face-up Damage.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oliver Seilz
Germany
Wiesbaden
Hessen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Guys, anything official on this? No offense but all we have here are some opinions how to read a sentence. We played it differently and I just wanna be sure how it was meant to be.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus Sinnabell
Austria
flag msg tools
mbmb
Oliver is right

Our Group got this text yesterday, and we see here 3 Definition.

Exactly we got following text:
Suffer 1 facedown Horrer and 1 Damage (#lore# negates)

1) only Horror can negate
2) booth can negate with only 1 success
3) booth but you need 2 success, if you roll only 1 success you can choice which one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ojey wrote:
Hey Guys, anything official on this? No offense but all we have here are some opinions how to read a sentence. We played it differently and I just wanna be sure how it was meant to be.


Here is the proof that you draw face-up when nothing is mentioned:
RRG - Damage & Horror wrote:
All Damage and Horror are claimed faceup unless the effect
causing the Damage or Horror specifies otherwise.


Here is the proof that either could be negated:
RRG - Negates wrote:
A test declaration that includes the word “negates” following the skill
icon indicates that the test prevents Damage or Horror.
• For each success result rolled, the investigator prevents one
Damage or one Horror, his choice.


And the way 'facedown' is used in the example means it cannot possibly apply to the Damage; it only applies to the Horror. If the facedown did apply to the Damage, then the first 'x' would also apply to the Damage and you would be drawing x facedown instances of x Damage, which is x^2 facedown Damage. That is extremely obviously not intended.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
impish1234 wrote:
Oliver is right

Our Group got this text yesterday, and we see here 3 Definition.

Exactly we got following text:
Suffer 1 facedown Horrer and 1 Damage (#lore# negates)

1) only Horror can negate
2) booth can negate with only 1 success
3) booth but you need 2 success, if you roll only 1 success you can choice which one.


The app in informing the Player that they will be receiving:
1 Horror, facedown (FDH)
1 Damage, faceup (FUD)

The Player may roll a #lore# check.
Each success may prevent ONE of the cards from coming in, Player's choice.
If 0 successes are rolled, the Player suffers 1 FDH and 1 FUD
If 1 success is rolled, the Player picks which they will prevent. In this situation, the other effect will be applied:
a/ 1 FDH
b/ 1 FUD
If 2 or more successes are rolled, all cards are prevented.


AKA: Option /3/ above is the correct interpretation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
ojey wrote:
Hey Guys, anything official on this? No offense but all we have here are some opinions how to read a sentence. We played it differently and I just wanna be sure how it was meant to be.


Here is the proof that you draw face-up when nothing is mentioned:
RRG - Damage & Horror wrote:
All Damage and Horror are claimed faceup unless the effect
causing the Damage or Horror specifies otherwise.


Here is the proof that either could be negated:
RRG - Negates wrote:
A test declaration that includes the word “negates” following the skill
icon indicates that the test prevents Damage or Horror.
• For each success result rolled, the investigator prevents one
Damage or one Horror, his choice.


And the way 'facedown' is used in the example means it cannot possibly apply to the Damage; it only applies to the Horror. If the facedown did apply to the Damage, then the first 'x' would also apply to the Damage and you would be drawing x facedown instances of x Damage, which is x^2 facedown Damage. That is extremely obviously not intended.

As Clipper shows, it's all official, in the RRG. Just gotta know the right places to look it up

-shnar
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.