Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Vast: The Crystal Caverns» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dragon Powers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Fenton
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Reading through the forums, it appears that the following has been established:

1. Swat/Slap can affect tokens/Knight if there is a wall between Dragon and Knight
2. Tokens/Knight may not be move through walls.

I have the following questions:

A) Swat makes it clear that the token can be moved "by 5 tiles in any combination of directions". However, Slap states the Knight is moved "to any tile within 3 tiles". To me, this says that if there is an open path between the Knight's present position and a tile within 3 tiles, you can move the Knight there (even if that path is 10 tiles long).
Is this correct, or should Slap be worded similar to Swat (meaning you can move the Knight 3 tiles only in any direction following rules)?

B) Swat says "the token can't stop on a tile with a player". This is different from Slap, which says you can't move "onto" a tile (without specifying when they're referring to). Can a token move through a player, provided it doesn't stop there? "Was that a treasure that just flew by?"

C) Wing lets you move up to two spaces. Can you move 1 space, use another Power (something that would require you to be in that position), then finish your movement with Wing? What about regular movement?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
High Frontier PBF #17 - Failing spaceward!
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
Avatar
mb
dsdhornet wrote:

A) Swat makes it clear that the token can be moved "by 5 tiles in any combination of directions". However, Slap states the Knight is moved "to any tile within 3 tiles". To me, this says that if there is an open path between the Knight's present position and a tile within 3 tiles, you can move the Knight there (even if that path is 10 tiles long).
Is this correct, or should Slap be worded similar to Swat (meaning you can move the Knight 3 tiles only in any direction following rules)?
Both abilities are meant to function similarly. Slap moves the Knight one space at a time, up to a total of three. Each move along the way must be legal, so she can't be moved through walls, dark tiles, or tiles with other players.

Quote:
B) Swat says "the token can't stop on a tile with a player". This is different from Slap, which says you can't move "onto" a tile (without specifying when they're referring to). Can a token move through a player, provided it doesn't stop there? "Was that a treasure that just flew by?"
Yes, treasures can be swatted through tiles with player pieces - they just can't stop there.

Quote:
C) Wing lets you move up to two spaces. Can you move 1 space, use another Power (something that would require you to be in that position), then finish your movement with Wing? What about regular movement?
You must complete the entire movement of 1 or 2 spaces before using another power.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.