$30.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Winter Thunder» Forums » Rules

Subject: Movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Casey Bruyn
Canada
Hamilton
Ontario
flag msg tools
Crossing a river is allowed for full strength divisions, HQ, non motorized unit. Motorized units stacked with full strength divisions or HQ are also allowed to cross rivers. Does the stack need to move as one to cross the river or do the full strength divisions or HQ need only be on 1 bank of the river?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Train
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
A motorized unit that starts its activation stacked with a full strength division or HQ unit next to a river spends all its MF to cross the river, but it does not have to cross the river with the stack (nor does the stack have to cross the river).
The thinking here is that a full strength division or corps/army HQ unit will have bridging resources with it sufficient to let a motorized unit cross.

Kind of a simplification compared to other Bulge games, I'll admit.
The earlier version of this game Autumn Mist: The Battle of the Bulge had separate German armored engineer battalions and engineer brigades, but that was too fiddly-chromy I thought and I folded them back into the divisions and HQs they were attached to.

Brian
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.