Do I have to move Vikings onto land in order to take over settlement? If I have 3 in a boat and 2 on land does that still count?
From the rules: Vikings onboard Longships or across sea do not count towards the raid
Another question.....do I have to use a settlement to go onto land? Can I go onto land anywhere?
You can load or unload off any piece of land.
Another question....can I load an animal just from the boat? I have one viking in a boat in the water on a tile that has a chicken....can I then load the chicken or does my viking need to get on land then load?
From the rules: Livestock cannot load themselves onto a Longship. They must either be moved along with at least 1 Viking, or have at least 1 Viking present on land when being loaded.