Looking at this example it says that Lilybaeum card to satisfy the colonist requirement. However this card has no colonist symbol printed on it. Error in the example?
Yes, that's a mistake. Substitute Lilybaeum with Hippo Acra. I think Lilybaeum had a colonist on it at one point during development, and it was later removed. I just forgot to update the example.
Also, the rules did not explicitly state the breakdown of the card. am I to infer that the top portion is what I used transport wise to get to a location, and the bottom half is used to satisfy rule requirements?
Yes. The top portion shows the connected locations and the transport required to travel to those locations. The stuff at the bottom (parchment) are the various resources of the card that you can use for actions.