Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Pillars of Eternity: Lords of the Eastern Reach» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarification on Solitaire rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dylan Holmes
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just sitting down to start my first game of solitaire, and one question leapt out at me: the combat is the first step. It says if I don't adventure, a monster will leap out and be put by my army. But I can't adventure (having no army) and likewise the monster can't really be put by an army I don't have. Do they just pile up next to the army space until I get the troops to fight them? What if they pile up and I have no buildings for them to damage? Do they stay until I build a building?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Taylor
United States
Lake Forest
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, monsters pile up next to your army area until you fight them or get three or more monsters.

If you have no buildings for the monsters to attack when there are three or more monsters, they can't destroy a building, but the monsters are still discarded.

No, they do not stay until you build a building. Monsters have more important things to do.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dylan Holmes
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Very belated thanks, but: thanks for the quick reply, very helpful
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Martin
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
If there are two wandering monsters, do you have to fight them both, or can you pick off just one?

So with wanderings, you get to look at them before you need to declare a party. Is this right? This is the rule book solitaire. I am just learning.

While I am here. Do buildings get pushed in with the party. I would assume that they wouldn't.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Taylor
United States
Lake Forest
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. You have to fight both wandering monsters.

2. Yes, you get to look at them since they are face-up next to your army.

3. Buildings do not get pushed in with the party, but you can use building abilities if they have the red "COMBAT" banner.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Martin
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
anarchy wrote:
1. You have to fight both wandering monsters.

oh! dear oh dear. That makes it difficult. Think I will have to house rule that one until I get better gulp

anarchy wrote:
2. Yes, you get to look at them since they are face-up next to your army.

Thanks

anarchy wrote:
3. Buildings do not get pushed in with the party, but you can use building abilities if they have the red "COMBAT" banner.

Arrr... COMBAT, that's right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.