$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » General

Subject: Mission "Drawn In" question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carmelo Lonero
msg tools
Hi everyone, we played the story mission "Drawn In" today from the core campaign, and the IP played the third point of "Subdue" spending 1 threat and attacking with snowtrooper.
Is this correct?
Can he use that rules of subdue only with "stormtrooper" or even with "heavy stormtrooper".
We are italian so the translated name of stormtrooper and snowtrooper have one word in common:
- stormtrooper is Assaltatore
- snowtrooper is Assaltatore da neve
- the third point of subdue says "Choose 1 (Assaltatore) group. etc"
So, do we get tricked by our language?

Spoiler (click to reveal)

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next total solar eclipse holiday in 2017 in the USA.
mbmbmbmbmb
The event can be use with the Stormtrooper group only (regular or elite Stormtrooper). The name must be an exact match. Heavy Stormtroopers have the Trooper trait, but their deployment card is not Stormtrooper.

There are couple of mission rules and agenda cards like this that refer to the deployment card name.

Also, could you please edit your post and hide the event picture using the spoiler tag (or remove it altogether).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carmelo Lonero
msg tools
Thanks for the reply. SO, in this case, we lost because the snowtrooper attacked an hero at the end of turn using that rule. Do we have to replay the mission, right?

Also, there's a reference rules about the exact match of the deployment card name?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next total solar eclipse holiday in 2017 in the USA.
mbmbmbmbmb
This refers to rules that refer to deployment cards by their name instead of their traits or affiliation.
RRG, Elite wrote:
· Elite Deployment cards share the same name as regular
Deployment cards. When a figure is called out by name (for
example, "Stormtrooper"), this refers to both regular and elite
versions of this figure.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Phillips
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mb
[q="Rudro"]Thanks for the reply. SO, in this case, we lost because the snowtrooper attacked an hero at the end of turn using that rule. Do we have to replay the mission, right?[q]

You could, but you could also reason that had the imperial player correctly interpreted the rules from the beginning that he would have not brought a snowtrooper group in and instead brought a stormtrooper group or reinforced his existing groups.

Obviosuly, everything would have played out differently, so you can replay it if you like, but I would just tack it up to learning and move on.

I imagine there's a half dozen things you got wrong in your first missions (and probably still getting wrong, I know I learn rules frequently) that you didn't go back and fix.

Just keep moving, it's more fun to see the plot/campaign progression then replaying missions because of a slight rule misinterpretation.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next total solar eclipse holiday in 2017 in the USA.
mbmbmbmbmb
Pinewood74 wrote:
Just keep moving, it's more fun to see the plot/campaign progression then replaying missions because of a slight rule misinterpretation.

This. Live and learn, and get (more) things right the next time.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.