$30.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rubble LOS questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff Guggino
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
Hello everyone,

Starting to play some ASL after a few years and I am a little rusty on rubble. Is the attached image I have a few questions

Can A see D (I think no)
Can B see D (I think yes with no modifiers)
Can B see C (I think no)



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Sadler
United States
Olney
Maryland
flag msg tools
From the Halls of Montezuma...
badge
...to the Shores of Tripoli...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Only T5 and W5 have LOS.

Rubble is inherent terrain, so it fills the whole hex. It blocks LOS, even down hexsides. Anybody that was on level 1 could see over the rubble. Units at ground level can't.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Hanna
United States
New Smyrna Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules references B.6, A6.1, A6.21
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Probst
Australia
Glen Waverley
VIC
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jguggino wrote:
Can A see D (I think no)


You are correct.

Quote:
Can B see D (I think yes with no modifiers)


You are incorrect (the LOS is blocked by the rubble hexside).

Quote:
Can B see C (I think no)


You are correct.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Guggino
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
Thank you for the quick reply.

One more rubble question if you don't mind. Can the AFV in the follow pic use bypass even with the rubble adjacent to it. The rules say you can't bypass rubble but in this case we are by passing the building?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Sadler
United States
Olney
Maryland
flag msg tools
From the Halls of Montezuma...
badge
...to the Shores of Tripoli...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That bypass is fine. I think only wire and roadblock hexes have hexsides that affect bypass.

You are bypassing in the hex with the building, even though the hexside defines the new restricted VCA.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Roundhill
United States
Lago Vista
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmb
BeatPosse wrote:
That bypass is fine. I think only wire and roadblock hexes have hexsides that affect bypass.

You are bypassing in the hex with the building, even though the hexside defines the new restricted VCA.


And a rules quirk - if the building you are bypassing is rubbled, you can no longer be in bypass and will "transport" to the hex center.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Terhune
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
This is a blatant example of frivolous geek gold spending.
badge
I spent 100 geek gold and all I got was this lousy overtext.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It can bypass the building, but it does have to pay to cross the wall, because the wall extends through the hex vertex.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Guggino
United States
Tampa
FL
flag msg tools
You guys are great, thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.