Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Tesla vs. Edison: War of Currents» Forums » Strategy

Subject: What's the point of Tesla? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kyle Skarp
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mb
I just recently played the game again with some new players and we were having a tough time with how Tesla is set up. He has a 3 for his Invention (lightning bolt) score yet his ability ignores said lightning values when performing a technology action. So what's the point? If he has higher invention level than everyone, why also ignore said rating? I keep feeling as though I'm missing something that benefits from having higher invention values. For example, Edison gets benefits pertaining to patents as well as anything that benefits from a slightly higher Money value. Am I missing something? Or is Tesla just suppose to excess at technology (rightfully so thematically speaking)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Weintraub
United States
Commack
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Lock him up!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Look at the example of Advancing Technology on p. 7 of the rules. You can use a *different* luminary to advance technology, at 0 invention cost. So if you have an unexhausted Tesla, you could use Edwin Rice (2 gear, 0 lightning) to advance the first two levels of AC or Bulb technology, and save Tesla for a later action.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Schaefer
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He makes a point, though. Tesla has 3 invention. Invention is used for technology. But Tesla's power is to ignore invention requirements for technology. So what else does he do with those three points?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Weintraub
United States
Commack
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Lock him up!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You advance another technology. It's like getting 5 technology instead of 3. You could advance AC tech with Rice, and then bulb tech with Tesla and another luminary, and grab patents along the way to boot.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Wild
United States
Kennesaw
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I get that having Tesla enable someone like Rice to advance tech, and then Tesla can spend another action later to do another tech.

That still doesn't answer the question though - why does Tesla have 3 invention? In other words, how would he be different if he had 0 invention instead? It would seem to me that Tesla would be no different, unless I'm missing something.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Germany
Frankfurt am Main
Hessen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I was wondering about this too. Is it maybe that Tesla's ability lets you ignore invention when using OTHER luminaries and not him? So if you use Tesla for a technology action, his ability doesn't trigger. The wording on the card seems to imply otherwise ("...unless he was exhausted previously this turn"), but it's the only thing I can think of.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.