$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
John Boone
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Using Acarnania as an example:

Acarnania: Use during your Strategy step.
If a friendly Hoplite or Bribery token is in Acarnania, place a City in Acarnania.

Say there is an Athenian Hoplite in Acarnania. What happens to the Hoplite after the Delian City is placed in Acarnania?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Mitchell
United Kingdom
Enfield
Middlesex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Nothing happens to the hoplite. Your teammate is now defending your city, and you are guaranteeing supply. Congratulations.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Boone
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Tycho wrote:
Nothing happens to the hoplite. Your teammate is now defending your city, and you are guaranteeing supply. Congratulations.


Thank you.

I suppose that is the only way your teammates Hoplite could be in your City.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Mitchell
United Kingdom
Enfield
Middlesex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Not so. Any legal muster or placement can add a hoplite to a space already containing a teammate's city.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Boone
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Tycho wrote:
Not so. Any legal muster or placement can add a hoplite to a space already containing a teammate's city.


I don't see that in the rules.

The rules for mustering a Hoplite are pasted from the rulebook, page 11, below.

When you muster a Hoplite:
• You must be able to trace supply from the newly mustered
Hoplite to your own City. Your teammate’s City is not sufficient
for mustering (these are your own citizens going to war).
• Additionally, Hoplites must be mustered in the same or an
adjacent space as another of your own pieces.


I thought own pieces meant my faction and did not include my ally. Since the only time you would have more than one piece in a space is when you are mustering in a City, I assumed you can only muster into your own City and not your Allies City.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alec Usticke
United States
Peekskill
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jwboone wrote:
Tycho wrote:
Not so. Any legal muster or placement can add a hoplite to a space already containing a teammate's city.

I don't see that in the rules.

The rules for mustering a Hoplite are pasted from the rulebook, page 11, below.

When you muster a Hoplite:
• You must be able to trace supply from the newly mustered
Hoplite to your own City. Your teammate’s City is not sufficient
for mustering (these are your own citizens going to war).
• Additionally, Hoplites must be mustered in the same or an
adjacent space as another of your own pieces.


I thought own pieces meant my faction and did not include my ally. Since the only time you would have more than one piece in a space is when you are mustering in a City, I assumed you can only muster into your own City and not your Allies City.

A "legal muster" is one that follows the rules, which you describe.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Mitchell
United Kingdom
Enfield
Middlesex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Own does indeed mean your own.

Correct, the only time you muster in the same space as another of your pieces is when your own city is already present.

In case it's still not clear, consider these legal musters:
Turn 1 Corinth musters a hoplite in Argos (in supply from Corinth, adjacent to Corinth)
Turn 2 Corinth musters in Laconia (in supply from Corinth, adjacent to Argos)
At this point, Laconia contains a Corinthian hoplite and (most likely) a Spartan hoplite and city.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicholas Avallone
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Essentially, while you can place a hoplite in a space that contains an ally's city, you're not using that city as the source for mustering your hoplite. Instead, you must trace a route back to your own city.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.