$15.00
$5.00
Robb Williams
United States
Lancaster
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am new to painting miniatures. I would like to post my experiences and a few questions based on those experiences.

The miniatures that have been used in these endeavors are from: Mice and Mystics, a few Reaper Bones, RoboRally and a few good old Space Marines.

I will keep this in three parts…

PART 1 PRE PAINTING - For primers I have used the following:

Rust-Oleum 2x Ultra Cover Primer (Flat) – This has stayed tacky after applied.

Krylon ColorMaster Paint + Primer Cover Max (Flat) – This has worked well for me. It covers well and dries quickly.

I do wash my miniatures with soap and water before priming.

QUESTIONS:
Are there any other primers that have work consistently well?

Can I use a Satin or Gloss primer?

PART 2 PAINTING – For paints and washes I have used the following:

FolkArt Acrylics – I feel like have gotten good results from these. I have thinned them down with Vallejo Thinner Medium, Vallejo Airbrush Thinner and water. My favorite results are from the Thinner medium.

FolkArt Acrylics Metallic – I really like the colors and coverage of these. I usually do not thin them down.

Vallejo Model Colors – I have about seven different colors and I do like the way they cover.

Citadel Paints – These work well but I am not unhappy with my other paints to commit to them 100%.

Testor’s Acrylic Washes (Black and Driftwood) – They are okay but I find that they leave the miniature looking “dirty”, but if that is the look I want then it works out.

Citadel Shades – By far the best and well worth the money. I just don’t want to spend a lot on colors other than black or brown.

I have tried making washes using Vallejo and water. It worked okay but I need to tweak the formula a little.

I am in the process of trying the floor polish formula and will update with how that goes when I have tested it.