Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
17 Posts

SeaFall» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sea Fall returned and kept items rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thomas Robb
United States
Calais
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

The rules are unclear (to me) about end of game returns

kept cards are kept in Province boxes

all other cards, tokens, and pieces are returned to general game for next time


what exactly are kept cards?

is there a list of cards, tokens, and pieces returned to general game box?

I'm a bit confused as to what to keep and return

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Bird
United States
Rockford
Tennessee
flag msg tools
As I understand it, the kept pieces between games include:

Your leader card
One of your advisor cards from that game
Your enmity tokens
Your glory token (from the glory track)
And your current title based on your rank at the end of the game.

All other advisors, gold, goods, improvement/building tiles, and so on go back in the game box.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clinton Rice
United States
Chino
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
And I would think unclaimed milestones, event cards and (when unlocked) research cards would also go in the general storage chest.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Robb
United States
Calais
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

I remember reading (I think) that event cards all become part of one event deck and go in the game box and are reshuffled and used every game

Research cards (that you used are dismissed? and put back into one large research card deck that is used from game to game

unused milestones? NO IDEA - are they kept for later games - I think they are but not sure
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Pishnery
United States
Lakewood
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
This is honestly all covered in the rule book, especially in context to components. Pages 20 and 21 tell you what to keep as far as unlocked items, but it's purposefully vague for anything that might crop. I suspect any secret stuff will have rules that say whether or not to keep it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Stack
msg tools
mbmb
thomasrobb wrote:

I remember reading (I think) that event cards all become part of one event deck and go in the game box and are reshuffled and used every game

Research cards (that you used are dismissed? and put back into one large research card deck that is used from game to game

unused milestones? NO IDEA - are they kept for later games - I think they are but not sure


Cards that have been researched, but not used yet are kept from game to game until they are used and dismissed back to the deck.

Unfulfilled milestones are kept from game to game until they have been completed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
SeaFall, p21 wrote:
GAME CARRYOVER

Some elements of one game carry over into future games. Although
mentioned in various parts of the rulebook, here are the starting game
parts that continue from game to game.

Islands
The explored sites on an island are permanent.
Permanent Enmity Stickers
Remain on islands and provinces.

Ship Values
One is improved at the end of each game.

Advisors
Each province keeps up to one.

Research Cards
Each province keeps unused research cards.

Title Cards
Players always have exactly one title.

Players should store their title card,
enmity tokens, glory marker, kept
advisor, research cards, and any other
kept cards in their province chest
before returning it to the game box.
Return all other cards, tokens, and
pieces to the game box.


I think that spells it out fairly well. The one ambiguity is the reference to "any other kept cards", which presumably refers to future additions to the rules. Artifacts? Colony cards of some sort? Who knows, but I would assume that the added rules would describe the thing as "kept".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Robb
United States
Calais
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb


thank you all for the feedback

now if I can figure out the coastal waters . . . .

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
thomasrobb wrote:


thank you all for the feedback

now if I can figure out the coastal waters . . . .


What's the confusion there? The coastal waters is a single space that is adjacent to all of the provinces, and also to all of the hexes in the first hex row. Basically, by having a single long space between the provinces and the rest of the map, the designers made it so that all of the provinces have the same distance to go to each of the islands.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Robb
United States
Calais
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

thank you Becq
thank you thank you thank you

that's the ruling I wanted to hear!

for some reason I could not pinpoint this idea in the rules (operator malfunction, I know)

that was the clarification I was looking for

you have made my day!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fito R
Argentina
flag msg tools
thomasrobb wrote:

thank you Becq
thank you thank you thank you

that's the ruling I wanted to hear!

for some reason I could not pinpoint this idea in the rules (operator malfunction, I know)

that was the clarification I was looking for

you have made my day!
Did you not read the exact same response to the thread you created which stated that?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Robb
United States
Calais
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

I do now

I also see the wrap around map that works surprise

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
thomasrobb wrote:

I do now

I also see the wrap around map that works surprise

Just to clarify, the map doesn't wrap, though because of the coastal waters space it's true that all of the factions are "close" to each other -- no more than two spaces away. However, adjacency is still as shown on the map, so each province has either one or two "neighboring" provinces that are one space away. Most of the time this won't matter, since ships have a sail speed of at least two spaces. (But it's possible that a damaged ship might have a speed of 1.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Blum
United States
Wilmington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Becq wrote:
SeaFall, p21 wrote:
GAME CARRYOVER

Some elements of one game carry over into future games. Although
mentioned in various parts of the rulebook, here are the starting game
parts that continue from game to game.

Islands
The explored sites on an island are permanent.
Permanent Enmity Stickers
Remain on islands and provinces.

Ship Values
One is improved at the end of each game.

Advisors
Each province keeps up to one.

Research Cards
Each province keeps unused research cards.

Title Cards
Players always have exactly one title.

Players should store their title card,
enmity tokens, glory marker, kept
advisor, research cards, and any other
kept cards in their province chest
before returning it to the game box.
Return all other cards, tokens, and
pieces to the game box.


I think that spells it out fairly well. The one ambiguity is the reference to "any other kept cards", which presumably refers to future additions to the rules. Artifacts? Colony cards of some sort? Who knows, but I would assume that the added rules would describe the thing as "kept".


I think there is one remaining ambiguity - leader cards. I assume that each player keeps their leader card from game to game, but leader cards are not mentioned in this section.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Stack
msg tools
mbmb
tool wrote:
Becq wrote:
SeaFall, p21 wrote:
GAME CARRYOVER

Some elements of one game carry over into future games. Although
mentioned in various parts of the rulebook, here are the starting game
parts that continue from game to game.

Islands
The explored sites on an island are permanent.
Permanent Enmity Stickers
Remain on islands and provinces.

Ship Values
One is improved at the end of each game.

Advisors
Each province keeps up to one.

Research Cards
Each province keeps unused research cards.

Title Cards
Players always have exactly one title.

Players should store their title card,
enmity tokens, glory marker, kept
advisor, research cards, and any other
kept cards in their province chest
before returning it to the game box.
Return all other cards, tokens, and
pieces to the game box.


I think that spells it out fairly well. The one ambiguity is the reference to "any other kept cards", which presumably refers to future additions to the rules. Artifacts? Colony cards of some sort? Who knows, but I would assume that the added rules would describe the thing as "kept".


I think there is one remaining ambiguity - leader cards. I assume that each player keeps their leader card from game to game, but leader cards are not mentioned in this section.


There are more that are not mentioned in the rules.

Artifacts:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Any Tablets or Relics are also kept in your box at the end of a game.


Colonies:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Any colonies under your control at the end of a game are also kept in your box to start the next game inactive.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
tool wrote:
I think there is one remaining ambiguity - leader cards. I assume that each player keeps their leader card from game to game, but leader cards are not mentioned in this section.

That does seem like an odd oversight in the list of things stored in the box. However, it does state in the starting rules:
Quote:
Have each player place one of their province enmity stickers (from the permanent enmity sheet) on their leader card to show which province it belongs to (it’s not really enmity, just a province identification).

So in addition to the common sense assumption that the leader belongs to the province, it states that fact there, and is signified by the faction symbol stuck on the card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Blum
United States
Wilmington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Becq wrote:
tool wrote:
I think there is one remaining ambiguity - leader cards. I assume that each player keeps their leader card from game to game, but leader cards are not mentioned in this section.

That does seem like an odd oversight in the list of things stored in the box. However, it does state in the starting rules:
Quote:
Have each player place one of their province enmity stickers (from the permanent enmity sheet) on their leader card to show which province it belongs to (it’s not really enmity, just a province identification).

So in addition to the common sense assumption that the leader belongs to the province, it states that fact there, and is signified by the faction symbol stuck on the card.


Good point. I guess it doesn't actually need to be stored in the province box since it has the sticker.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.