18 Posts

Shadows of Brimstone: City of the Ancients» Forums » General

Subject: My mini painting thread rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Petri H
Finland
flag msg tools
Shadows of Brimstone, what a great game... I think! I haven't actually played the game yet because I really need to paint the miniatures first. I've heard so many good things about the game so it can't be bad, right?

Anyhow, I'm a complete noob at miniature painting and I'm learning as I go. I'll be posting pics and reports about my work here, in the hope that this is interesting to fellow gamers who are into painting. Any advice, tips, criticism, comments welcome!

Like I said I haven't painted any minis before but I have a background at visual arts (3D graphics) so knowing which colors usually work together should at least help a little on my way. I'm working quite slowly and making many mistakes along the way. I think it will take me a month to finish all the 32 figs in my Swamps of Death base set.

I started with tentacles as I figured they should be easiest to paint (no small details, just two colors). I started by painting one of them so I could try different colors and once I was happy with them I painted the rest. I used Army Painter's paints for base and two layers of Citadel's Carroburg Crimson shade for washing (I wanted a really gritty look), followed by drybrushing with ultramarine blue. I got sand from a nearby kindergarden's playground and glued it to the base using superglue. I used Army Painter's matte varnish to seal the minis.

I made several mistakes. I had to repaint the figure because I used too much water and the paint started running and.. well it became very messy fast!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dwayne Hendrickson
United States
Oklahoma City
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
on my mini's I use clumping kitty litter to 'sand' the bases

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Blasco

Brier
Washington
msg tools
mbmb