Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
18 Posts

Shadows of Brimstone: City of the Ancients» Forums » Rules

Subject: Amulet of Kotak rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Zoxe
msg tools
mbmbmb
First time poster, be gentle.

We have had quite the geek debate over the Amulet of Kotak recently.

It says:
Quote:
Once per Adventure, prevent all Damage a Hero would take from a single source.


Interpretation 'A' is that a 'source' is a particular hit.
Example: Guardian rolls 4 dice, and is successful with 2. Amulet cancels one hit, and the effect is consumed; hero takes wounds from the other.

Interpretation 'B' is that a 'source' is a particular incoming attack (which could be any number of hits, depending on the Enemy or Encounter type). Example: Guardian rolls 4 dice, is successful with all 4, the target Hero decides to use the Amulet to cancel all the incoming damage.

Interpretation 'C' is that a 'source' is a particular Enemy or Encounter. In other words, making the Hero effectively immune to that Enemy until it dies.


gulp
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Curtis
United States
Prospect Park
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I vote B
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adria D
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We've always gone with B - all attacks for one round from a single enemy.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Harman
United States
Ontario
CA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Definitely not C. That's too strong.

A or B could work.

A is probably too weak.

Therefore B makes the most sense.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dwayne Hendrickson
United States
Oklahoma City
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
B
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn Stauffer
United States
Waxahachie
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We play it as B as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Jelley
United Kingdom
Hungerford
Berkshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
B
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
a a
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We play B, however the other question is what does 'a hero' mean?

We play this as meaning that you can use the amulet to save another hero on your tile, one who isn't wearing the amulet!

That's magic! :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonah Rees
Wales
Cardiff
South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Another B here. You add up all the hits from a single monster and I'd count that as a source. Would be a pretty crappy magical amulet if it let you dodge the left hook straight into a right uppercut!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
definitely B, and I do think it can be used on other heroes, not just yourself.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J M
United States
Scottdale
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are other items or abilities that reference ignoring damage from a hit. I always play it as B for that reason.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Lieberoth Wadum
Denmark
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We play A.

When in doubt, go with the least advantageous interpretation
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jee Fu
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There should be no doubt here.

It would say Hit if it meant Hit. There are hundreds of examples of that terminology being used so that's some pretty good induction-based evidence right there.

A source is a discrete entity, like a Hero or a Monster. Or a Depth Event. Or an Encounter. It's the Thing That Did The Hits To You; the Source of the Hits (and the Damage).

- Jee
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Miguel Guijo
Spain
Madrid
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
B a source is not a hit from a source.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek VDG
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
madquest8 wrote:
We play B, however the other question is what does 'a hero' mean?

We play this as meaning that you can use the amulet to save another hero on your tile, one who isn't wearing the amulet!

That's magic! :)


B as well. Also, this is correct ^^. This particular item is not limited to the owning Hero, and may be used on another Hero.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jee Fu
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Technically the remote Hero doesn't even have to be on your tile. Or on your planet.

The ways of Kotak are strange and powerful.

- Jee
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Death Jester
msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Although B is correct, this didn't need to be a debate. Source is explained in the Glossary.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.