Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Wizard's Academy» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Doubled" disaster card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Arthur O'Dwyer
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
"Doubled" (0) says:

"Select a random room. For every threat in the room, place an additional copy of that threat. If a wizard is in that room, they gain a copy of each glyph that they possess."

When we played this card, we found its wording slightly ambiguous. If Alice is in the affected room and she currently has one Level 1 glyph and two Level 2 glyphs, does she gain

- one Level 1 and one Level 2?
- one Level 1 and two Level 2s?

We reasoned that if the former interpretation were correct, the rule would have said "...gain a copy of each type of glyph that they possess." Therefore, we played by the latter, more favorable, interpretation.

Just wondering whether we made the right call.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Morten Monrad Pedersen
Denmark
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quuxplusone wrote:
"Doubled" (0) says:

"Select a random room. For every threat in the room, place an additional copy of that threat. If a wizard is in that room, they gain a copy of each glyph that they possess."

When we played this card, we found its wording slightly ambiguous. If Alice is in the affected room and she currently has one Level 1 glyph and two Level 2 glyphs, does she gain

- one Level 1 and one Level 2?
- one Level 1 and two Level 2s?

We reasoned that if the former interpretation were correct, the rule would have said "...gain a copy of each type of glyph that they possess." Therefore, we played by the latter, more favorable, interpretation.

Just wondering whether we made the right call.


I completely agree with you that the words "type of" should have been there if the first interpretation was what meant. So I'd definitely go with the latter interpretation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You're fine - you are meant to double your glyphs.
Same for threats though, it's not just one of each type.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.